Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Six Tables Return for Day Three at Irish Open 2008

A Handful of Big Names Remain As 52 Make The Money at the Irish Open 2008


Fifty-two players and six tables return for day three today at the Irish Open 2008 and all can relax as they’ve made the money and will spend the day trying to climb the prize pool ladder.

The day started with 264 players and many recognizable names fell by the wayside as play approached the bubble including Doyle Brunson, Ciaran O’Leary, Soren Jensen, Liam Flood, and George McKeever.

The unfortunate bubble boy, out in 73rd, was Canadian Chris Peddigrew. He was all in for his 10,400 chip stack with 2-2 against his opponent’s K-J which found a king on the flop. He took the news in good spirits, smiling all the way to the end while every player in the room was now guaranteed at least, €4500, while one lucky individual will take down the €801,400 first prize.

Sorel Mizzi spent the day as one of the large stacks and was taking on all-comers. He eliminated James Honeybone with Q-Q versus 10-10 before losing a 60,000 chip pot to David Deans when his A-Q was outflopped by Deans A-8.
Emmett Davis was the lucky qualifier who won the “Paddy First” competition outlasting all the other online qualifiers to gain free entry to next year’s Irish Poker Open and, if he goes on to win this year’s event he’ll get free entry for the next five years.

The day also saw the start of the €1,500 + €150 no limit hold’em event which attracted 267 players who created a prizeJohn Kabbaj enters day three oif the Irish Open third in chips pool of €400,500.

The top 10 in chips going into day three are:

  1. Mark Spellman — 337,500
  2. Lars Hougaard — 295,500
  3. John Kabbaj — 282,000
  4. Peter Linton — 266,500
  5. Iam Van Trinh — 264,500
  6. Donal Norton — 255,000
  7. Hassan Mohammed — 250,000
  8. William Haughey — 244,500
  9. Tim Blake — 214,000
  10. Eric Larcheveque — 207,000

Also returning are Padraig Parkinson, Surinder Sunar, and Neil Channing.

Click here for regular live updates of all of the action, courtesy of our friends at