Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Nominations Open For 2024 Poker Hall Of Fame Inductee

Newest Member To Be Revealed July 14


Brian Rast with Jack Effel credit: PokerNews / Megan Haney With the World Series of Poker now underway, nominations for the Poker Hall of Fame are officially open. Poker fans can now suggest a player and must include a brief explanation for why the selection should be inducted.

The WSOP has allowed for a single nominee in recent years and that included Brian Rast in 2023, Layne Flack in 2022, Eli Elezra in 2021, and Huck Seed in 2020. This year’s inductee will be the 63rd member overall.

“With the poker world losing original participants of the 1970 WSOP in the last two years, it’s more important than ever to celebrate the history of the game,” WSOP executive director Ty Stewart said. “The Poker Hall of Fame is meant to make sure legends who paved the way for today’s record-setting fields are never forgotten, and we thank poker fans for their help putting forth worthy candidates during the nomination process.”

Criteria For Nominations

Nominations remain open through June 16 with the top 10 nominations reviewed by the Poker Hall of Fame Governing Council. The 31 living members will then vote on the final list of nominees to determine the new inductee.

The nominee will be announced on July 14. Before 2023, the Hall of Fame was a virtual institution, but that changed in 2023 with the opening of the Hall of Fame Poker Room at Horseshoe Las Vegas, formerly Bally’s. The poker room now features plaques and photos of all members and that will include the new inductee.

To be considered for the Hall of Fame, the following criteria must be met:

  • The player must have played against acknowledged top competition.
  • Must be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination.
  • Must have played for high stakes, consistently well, and stood the test of time.
  • For non-players, the person must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Poker fans were quick to offer up their own suggestions after the announcement was made. Some of those included “Miami” John Cernuto, Josh Arieh, Ted Forrest, Jeremy Ausmus, Kathy Liebert, Matt Savage, Antonio Esfandiari, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Mike Matusow, and numerous others.

To nominate a player, click here. For more information on the Poker Hall of Fame, click here.

Here’s a look at the complete Hall of Fame.

The Poker Hall of Fame

Name Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010
Linda Johnson 2011
Barry Greenstein 2011
Eric Drache 2012
Bryan “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Scotty Nguyen 2013
Tom McEvoy 2013
Daniel Negreanu 2014
Jack McClelland 2014
Jennifer Harman 2015
John Juanda 2015
Carlos Mortensen 2016
Todd Brunson 2016
David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Phil Ivey 2017
John Hennigan 2018
Mori Eskandani 2018
Chris Moneymaker 2019
David Oppenheim 2019
Huck Seed 2020
Eli Elezra 2021
Layne Flack 2022
Brian Rast 2023

Visit the Card Player 2024 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest event results. WSOP coverage sponsored by Global Poker.