Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Alexander Wong Wins Mid-States Poker Tour Venetian $1,100 Main Event

Canadian Bests Field of 543 Entries To Earn $89,544


Alexander WongA total of 543 entries were made in the latest Mid-States Poker Tour Venetian $1,100 buy-in main event, surpassing the $500,000 guarantee to create a final prize pool of $526,995. In the end, Alexander Wong walked away with the title and the top prize of $89,544.

This was the largest tournament score yet for Wong, who hails from Ottawa, Ontario in Canada.

Wong also earned 840 Card Player Player of the Year points as the champion of this tournament, enough to move him into 360th place in the 2024 POY race presented by Global Poker.

After three starting flights, 61 players remained from the 543 entries. Those 61 returned to play down to a champion on May 28. It took roughly 14 hours to achieve that goal, with the final table being set after about nine hours. Wong was in second chip position when the field combined down to a single table, trailing only Lucas Tae.

Bracelet winner Michael Holtz was eliminated in seventh place, earning $17,073 for his latest deep run. Tae ended up hitting the rail in fifth place ($28,323), leaving four contenders.

Nicholas Wang busted Robert Shulz (4th – $37,125) to further narrow the field. Wong then picked up pocket aces against the pocket fours of Thien Tran (3rd – $49,227) and held to set up the heads-up showdown for the title.

After a back-and-forth battle, Wong’s ADiamond SuitJSpade Suit held against the KClub Suit6Diamond Suit of Wang in the final all-in confrontation. A QSpade Suit10Club Suit9Diamond SuitKHeart SuitJDiamond Suit runout gave Wong an ace-high straight for the win. Wang earned $66,019 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Alexander Wong $89,544 840
2 Nicholas Wang $66,019 700
3 Thien Tran $49,227 560
4 Robert Schulz $37,125 420
5 Lucas Tae $28,323 350
6 Boris Shakhmurov $21,860 280
7 Michael Holtz $17,073 210
8 Euan Mcnicholas $13,493 140
9 Tamas Lendvi $10,794 70

Photo credit: MSPT.