Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Andy Ni Wins Triton Super High Roller Series Montenegro $25,000 Eight-Max Event

Chinese Player Bests 135-Entry Field To Earn $785,000 And His First Triton Title


Andy Ni has only entered five Triton Super High Roller Series tournaments so far, and has managed to cash in three of five with one outright victory. His win came in the $25,000 eight-max no-limit hold’em event at the 2024 Triton Montenegro festival. Ni, a 41-year-old Chinese player now based out of Spain, earned $785,000 as the champion.

This title run also netted Ni 924 Card Player Player of the Year points. This was his first-ever POY-qualified score.

A total of 135 entries were made in this event by the time registration closed, building a prize pool of $3,375,000 that was paid out among the top 23 finishers. Among those that ran deep where five-time Triton champion Mikita Badziakouski (23rd), Seth Davies (22nd), Steve O’Dwyer (17th), Quan Zhou (15th), Nick Petrangelo (14th), Henrick Hecklen (13th), Patrik Antonius (12th), and Ben Heath (9th).

Ni held the chip lead when the official final table of eight players was set. He added to that lead when his pocket aces held against the A-Q suited of Alex Kulev (8th – $98,500) to narrow the field to seven. Jose ‘Nacho’ Barbero was the next to fall, with his A-K running into pocket aces for Chris Brewer. barbero was awarded $133,600 as the seventh-place finisher. Kulev and Barbero are now both sitting inside the top 25 in the 2024 POY standings presented by Global Poker after recording their eighth and fifth final-table finishes of the year, respectively.

Five-time Triton champion Danny Tang lost a classic preflop race with pocket queens against A-K suited for Nicolas Chouity. Tang earned $180,500 for his sixth-place showing.

Brewer scored another knockout with A-3 holding against the K-8 of Viacheslav Buldygin (5th – $233,000). Buldygin was soon joined by Aram Sargsyan, whose pocket tens failed to hold against the Q-7 suited of Chouity. Sargsyan earned $290,000 for his fourth-place finish in just his second Triton event.

Ni overtook the lead when his K-10 came from behind against the K-J suited of Brewer. He then closed out the win via a three-way all-in, with his AHeart SuitJClub Suit holding up against the ASpade Suit10Diamond Suit of Chouity and the AClub Suit8Spade Suit of Brewer. The board came down QDiamond SuitQClub Suit7Heart Suit6Diamond Suit4Diamond Suit to give Ni the title.

Brewer earned $354,000 as the third-place finisher. The two-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner has now made six final tables this year, putting him in 34th place in the current POY rankings. Chouity, a bracelet winner and the champion of the 2010 European Poker Tour Grand Final, walked away with $531,000 as the runner-up.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Andy Ni $785,000 924
2 Nicolas Chouity $531,000 770
3 Chris Brewer $354,000 616
4 Aram Sargsyan $290,000 462
5 Viacheslav Buldygin $233,000 385
6 Danny Tang $180,500 308
7 Jose Barbero $133,600 231
8 Alex Kulev $98,500 154

Photo credits: Triton Poker / Joe Giron.