Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Dylan Weisman Captures PokerGO Tour Pot-Limit Omaha Series $10,100 Event Title

Bracelet Winner Bests 85-Entry Field To Earn Top Prize of $229,500


Dylan Weisman has won the latest trophy at the 2024 PokerGO Tour Pot-Limit Omaha Series. The sixth event on the PGT PLO schedule was a $10,100 buy-in. A total of 85 entries turned out, building a prize pool of $850,000. The largest share of that went to Weisman, who walked away with $229,500 for the win.

This was the fourth-largest tournament score yet for Weisman, bringing his career earnings to more than $3.5 million. Four of his five top paydays have now come in pot-limit Omaha events, including the $166,461 he earned as the champion of a $1,000 buy-in PLO tournament at the 2021 World Series of Poker.

Weisman has now won three titles and made seven final tables in 2024. This latest victory awarded him 480 Card Player Player of the Year points, bringing his total to 2,332 with more than $1 million in to-date POY earnings. As a result, he has climbed into 11th place in the 2024 POY standings presented by Global Poker.

This win also saw Weisman enter first place in the PGT PLO series-long standings, with 277 PGT points and $274,105 accrued across three cashes. His 1,015 total PGT points on the year are the most of any player, putting him in pole position in the season-long PGT points race as well.

Weisman came into this event’s second and final day as the chip leader with six players remaining. The top 13 finishers cashed in this event, with plenty of big names hitting the rail inside the money late on day 1 including two-time bracelet winner Jesse Lonis (13th), recent PGT PLO $7,600 bounty event winner Eelis Parssinen (11th), World Poker Tour champion Matthew Wantman (10th), ten-time bracelet winner Erik Seidel (9th), bracelet winner and WPT champion Dan Smith (8th), and recent PGT PLO $10,100 event champion Samuli Sipila (7th).

Weisman scored the first two knockouts of the final day, eliminating Stefan Christopher (6th – $42,500) and Ian Matakis (5th – $59,500) to enter four-handed play with the lead.

Jordan Spurlin was on fumes at one point during four-handed action but managed to win several all-ins to put himself back in the mix. He then won yet another all-in, this time coming out on top in a three-way clash that ended with Isaac Kempton sitting on a single big blind. Weisman then finished off Kempton to narrow the field to three. Kempton, the 2022 Wynn Millions main event runner-up, earned $76,500 for his efforts in this tournament.

Weisman lost a big pot against inaugural PGT PLO series champion Lautaro Guerra to fall out of the top spot on the leaderboard and then doubled up Spurlin to become the shortest stack. Weisman promptly doubled up three tunes to pull close to the lead.

The next knockout saw Weisman’s A-K-Q-2 with king-high spades overcome the A-K-K-8 rainbow of Spurlin. Weisman turned trip deuces and held from there to regain the lead heading into heads-up play. Spurlin earned $106,250 as the third-place finisher.

Guerro picked off a bluff early in the final showdown to take the lead, but Weisman doubled back in front with a full house besting Guerra’s jack-high straight. In the final hand, all of the chips went in with 6Diamond Suit4Heart Suit3Heart SuitKDiamond Suit on the board. Weisman showed QSpade Suit8Diamond Suit5Diamond Suit2Club Suit for a six-high straight, while Guerra held ADiamond Suit10Diamond Suit10Spade Suit5Spade Suit for the nut flush draw. The 3Club Suit on the end eliminated Guerra in second place ($148,750). He now sits in fourth place in the series points race thanks to three in-the-money finishes.

Here is a look at the payouts and rankings points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Dylan Weisman $229,500 480
2 Lautaro Guerra Cabrerizo $148,750 400
3 Jordan Spurlin $106,250 320
4 Isaac Kempton $76,500 240
5 Ian Matakis $59,500 200
6 Stefan Christopher $42,500 160

Photo credit: PokerGO / Antonio Abrego.