Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Terrence Chan Wins First World Series of Poker Bracelet In Online Limit Hold'em Championship

The Canadian Defeated 2022 WSOP Main Event Champion Espen Jorstad Heads-Up To Secure The Hardware


The full real-name results from the 2023 World Series of Poker Online have begun to trickle in. Last week we learned that Terrence Chan broke through with his first bracelet win.

Chan recorded his first World Series of Poker cash back in 2005, finishing 12th in the $2,500 pot-limit hold’em event. The Canadian player, who has also worked in the poker industry and competed as a professional MMA fighter, has cashed in 44 bracelet events since then, accumulating nearly $900,000 in WSOP earnings along the way. After plenty of close calls over more than a decade and a half of competition, Chan finally closed out a win. He outlasted a field of 124 entries in the WSOP Online $2,500 limit hold’em championship on GGPoker, earning $64,021 and the hardware.

This was Chan’s ninth final-table finish at the series, with seven coming in his preferred game of limit hold’em. With this victory, his recorded tournament earnings are now close to $1.3 million.

Plenty of big names joined Chan in making deep runs in this event, including European Poker Tour champion Dzmitry Urbanovich (20th), bracelet winner Espen Sandvik (19th), 2019 WSOP main event runner-up Dario Sammartino (14th), six-time bracelet winner Josh Arieh (13th), bracelet winner Samuel Bernabeu (8th), two-time bracelet winner Jesse Lonis (6th), and 2022 WSOP main event champion Espen Jorstad (2nd).

Chan denied Jorstad his third bracelet. The Norwegian poker pro earned two in 2022, taking down the tag team event alongside Patrick Leonard in addition to his $10,000,000 win in poker’s world championship. He now has more than $15.6 million in earnigns after securing $48,330 for his second-place finish in this event.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings
1 Terrence Chan $64,021
2 Espen Jorstad $48,330
3 Kostya Holskiy $36,485
4 Harald Casagrande $27,543
5 Jacopo Achille $20,792
6 Jesse Lonis $15,696
7 Ben Underwood $11,849
8 Samuel Bernabeu $8,945
9 Tim Rutherford $6,753