Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Mary Darnell Leads After Day 1A of 2023 Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville Mystery Bounty Main Event

The First of Three Starting Flights Drew 57 Entries, With Eight Moving On To Day 2


The 2023 Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville $300,000 guaranteed $1,700 buy-in no-limit hold’em mystery bounty main event kicked off with the first of three starting flights on Aug. 17. A total of 57 entries were made by the time registration came to a close. After ten hours of action, the field had been narrowed to just eight remaining contenders, each of whom officially made the money and moved on to day 2.

The chip leader among the remaining eight is Mary Darnell with 423,500. Darnell was fresh off of a runner-up showing in the $300 buy-in ladies event. She secured $4,169 for that strong showing, and is now in prime position to add to her $101,334 in career earnings with another deep run in this event.

Darnell scored the last knockout of the day, getting all-in with top two pair against the flush draw and lower two pair of Jeffrey Davoud. Her queens and tens held up to earn her the pot and bring the day to a close.

The second-largest stack moving forward from this flight belongs to Kelly Joe Andrews. The 2021 bestbet Jacksonville Trifecta Series main event winner ended up with 312,000. Andrews has nearly $457,000 in prior cashes to his name.

Brian ArbaughHot on Andrews’ heels is Brian Arbaugh with 307,000. Arbaugh took down the 2015 MSPT bestbet Jacksonville main event champion and also finished fifth in the 2018 Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville main event. He’ll be looking to add to his nearly $425,000 in recorded tournament earnings with yet another final-table showing here in Jacksonville.

Plenty of notables hit the rail during day 1A action, including World Series of Poker bracelet winner Byron Kaverman, 2011 WSOP ladies event champion Marsha Wolak, and 2021 CPPT bestbet Jacksonville main event champion Ben Scrogins.

There are still two starting flights remaining for players looking to get in on the action in this $300,000 guaranteed event. Flights 1B and 1C both begin at noon on Aug. 18 and 19. There will be unlimited re-entries available during the registration periods, with late registration and re-entry available through the start of level 10 each day.

Day 2 will see those that moved on start in the money, with the mystery bounties in play. Bounties are will range from $500 to $50,000.

Here is a look at the chip counts for the eight players moving on from day 1A:

1. Mary Darnell – 423,500
2. Kelly Joe Andrews – 312,000
3. Brian Arbaugh – 307,000
4. Tyler Chen – 210,000
5. Luan Nguyen – 173,000
6. Paul Chung – 119,000
7. Nick Raio – 102,500
8. Brian Schaedlich – 68,000