Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

2023 World Series of Poker: Three Events, Four Bracelet Winners

A Look At The Most Recent Champions Crowned At The 54th Annual WSOP


The 2023 World Series of Poker, is now into the back half of its schedule, with 60 bracelets and more than $166.6 million in prize money awarded so far. Below is a look at the most recent winners from this year’s series.

2023 WSOP $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold’em

Michael Savakinas and Satoshi TanakaUsually, a WSOP bracelet is only awarded when just a single player remains in an event. That is not the case for the annual $1,000 no-limit hold’em tag team event, though, with a pair of players coming away with the gold in this unique tournament that sees two contenders team up and take turns playing the same stack. Satoshi Tanaka and Michael Savakinas were the last team standing, topping a record field of 1,282 teams to secure their first bracelets and a payout of $190,662 (or $95,331 each if they’re splitting it down the middle).

The two Ohio residents both earned their largest live tournament paydays for this win. Tanaka’s top cash before this came when he finished second in a $400 freezeout no-limit hold’em event during the 2020 WSOP Online festival for $68,373. Savakinas’ previous top score had been a 17th-place showing in the WSOP Circuit Harrah’s Cherokee $1,700 main event this spring for $15,484.

Other teams that ran deep included Joseph Cheong/Rob Perelman (14th), Justin Pechie/Ronnie Bardah (9th), David Williams/Theo Tran (7th), and Vincent Moscati/Tanner Bibat (2nd).

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Players Earnings
1 Michael Savakinas – Satoshi Tanaka $190,662
2 Vincent Moscati – Tanner Bibat $117,872
3 Jonah LaBranche – Dustin Wills $85,040
4 Rickey Evans – Roberto Valdez $62,090
5 John Ventre – Kenneth Gallo $45,884
6 Marcus Stein – Amber Donatelli $34,326
7 David Williams – Theo Tran $26,000
8 Carlos Inukai – Emmaniel Avila $19,942
9 Justin Pechie – Ronnie Bardah $15,492

2023 WSOP $2,500 Mixed Triple Draw Lowball

Nick Pupillo Nick Pupillo came into the 2023 WSOP $2,500 mixed triple draw event with more than $4.7 million in prior tournament earnings across 329 recorded cashes. While he had 21 tournament titles under his belt, including three WSOP Circuit gold ring victories, he had never taken down a bracelet event at the series.

That all changed when Pupillo came out on top of a field of 353 entries in the aforementioned triple draw tournament, which featured a mix of deuce-to-seven triple draw lowball, ace-to-five triple draw lowball, and badugi. Pupillo took home $181,978 and his first bracelet for the win.

Plenty of highly accomplished players joined Pupillo at the final few tables, including Maria Ho (25th), Cary Katz (18th), four-time bracelet winner Robert Mizrachi )17th), five-time bracelet winner John Monnette (16th), two-time bracelet winner Joao Vieira (10th), five-time ring winner Ray Henson (9th), bracelet winner Andrew Brown (8th), two-time bracelet Anatolii Zyrin (7th), and two-time _World Poker Tour champion Aaron Mermelstein (3rd).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Nicholas Pupillo $181,978 900
2 Ryan Moriarty $112,472 750
3 Aaron Mermelstein $74,545 600
4 Tomomitsu Ono $50,608 450
5 Hye Park $35,212 375
6 Brant Hale $25,126 300
7 Anatolii Zyrin $18,398 225

2023 WSOP Online $1,000 PLO Championship

Stanislav Barshak The ninth WSOP Online bracelet handed out to players located inside the borders of Nevada and New Jersey was earned by Stanislav Barshak. He earned his first bracelet and $128,842 for outlasting a field of 383 entries in the $1,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha event.

This was Barshak’s first recorded six-figure tournament score. Prior to this, his top cash had been a fourth-place finish in the 2012 WPT Denmark event for $68,361. The Illinois resident now has more than $750,000 in lifetime cashed to his name.

Big names that made the money in this event included 2013 WSOP main event champion Ryan Reiss (36th), 2021 WSOP main event champion Koray Aldemir (34th), 2017 PokerStars Championship Bahamas main event winner Christian Harder (33rd), Shannon Shorr (32nd), bracelet winner Steve Gross (21st), recent online bracelet winner Ian Matakis (29th), bracelet winner Nacho Barbero (27th), six-time bracelet winner Shaun Deeb (26th), three-time bracelet winner Jim Collopy (22nd), three-time bracelet winner Dan Zack 94th), and runner-up Chris DeMaci.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings
1 Stanislav Barshak $128,842
2 Christopher DeMaci $79,040
3 Chris Leslie-Hynan $54,655
4 Daniel Zack $38,398
5 Pranay Kapoor $27,418
6 Jonathan Depa $19,896
7 Carlos Alvarado $14,740
8 Kristof Segers $11,101
9 Vincent Moscati $8,492

Visit the Card Player 2023 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest event results. WSOP coverage sponsored by Global Poker.

Winner photo credits: WSOP / Spenser Sembrat, Rachel Kay Miller.