Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Check Out The Most Recent Bracelet Winners From The 2023 World Series of Poker

A Look At The Results From Events 44-46 and 49 At The 54th Annual WSOP


There have been a total of 57 gold bracelets handed out so far at the 2023 World Series of Poker, with 49 live and eight online events now in the books. More than 114,000 entries have been made across these completed tournaments, with nearly $157.3 million in prize money awarded along the way. Below is a look at the four of the most recent winners crowned at the 54th annual WSOP.

2023 WSOP $3,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Yang ZhangOf the 1,735 entries in the $3,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event at this year’s series, only one could walk away with the bracelet and the massive top prize of $717,879. That player turned out to be Yang Zhang, who topped a tough final table to secure his first bracelet.

This was the largest score yet for the Chinese player, who has managed four other six-figure cashes on the live circuit in his career. He now has more than $2.9 million in lifetime earnings after this latest victory.

The top 261 finishers cashed in this event, each earning share of the $4,632,450 prize pool. Among the notables that ran deep were two-time bracelet winner Drew O"Connell (17th), reigning PokerStars Players No-Limit Hold’em Championship winner Aliaksandr Shylko (13th), bracelet winner Ankush Mandavia (11th), bracelet winner Kartik Ved (10th), Shannon Shorr (7th), Jon van Fleet (4th), 2018 WSOP main event seventh-place finisher Alex Lynskey (3rd), and Aram Oganyan (2nd).

This was the 10th final-table finish of the year of Oganyan, who has cashed for just shy of $2 million across those scores. His one title this year came when he took down a $25,500 high roller at the Lucky Hearts Poker Open for $480,175. The 1,350 Card Player Player of the Year points that Oganyan earned as the runner-up in this event were enough to move him into fifth place in the 2023 POY race standings, which are presented by Global Poker.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Yang Zhang $717,879 1620
2 Aram Oganyan $443,680 1350
3 Alex Lynskey $323,610 1080
4 Jon Van Fleet $238,546 810
5 Frederic Normand $177,732 675
6 Aleks Dimitrov $133,862 540
7 Shannon Shorr $101,928 405
8 John Marino $78,475 270
9 Levente Szabo $61,098 135

2023 WSOP $1,500 Mixed Omaha 8

William LeffingwellThe next event on the agenda featured a mix of three Omaha eight-or-better variants: limit Omaha eight-or-better, pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better, and ‘Big O’. The $1,500 buy-in tournament attracted 1,091 entries by the time registration closed, resulting in a 41,456,485 prize pool.

After three days of action, William Leffingwell scooped the final pot to lock up his first bracelet and the $253,651 top prize. This was the second career WSOP final-table showing for the Texas resident, who finished eighth in $1,500 no-limit hold’em and pot-limit Omaha mixed event last year for $30,139. He now has $636,000 in career cashes to his name.

Plenty of big names joined Leffingwell at the business end of this event, including Chris Demaci (17th), bracelet winner and WSOP main event final tablist Alex Livingston (16th), bracelet winner Allan Le (13th), bracelet winner Nick Kost (10th), bracelet winner Ben Miner (7th), bracelet winner Raj Vohra (6th), six-time bracelet winner Shaun Deeb (5th), bracelet winner Joseph Couden (4th), and 2019 WSOP main event sixth-place finisher Zhen Cai (2nd).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 William Leffingwell $253,651 960
2 Zhen Cai $156,773 800
3 Carlos Guerrero $109,474 640
4 Joseph Couden $77,620 480
5 Shaun Deeb $55,894 400
6 Raj Vohra $40,887 320
7 Benjamin Miner $30,392 240

2023 WSOP $500 Freezeout No-Limit Hold’em

Jay LockettThe $500 no-limit hold’em freezeout drew 5,342 players, building a prize pool of more than $2.2 million. The lion’s share of that cash was ultimately awarded to Jay Lockett, who survived the fast-paced two-day affair to earn $262,526 and his first gold bracelet.

This was the San Antonio, TX resident’s first live tournament victory ever. in fact, prior to this win, he had just one recorded cash: a 176th-place showing in a 2021 WSOP $600 deepstack event for $1,980.

Several accomplished tournament grinders made it down to the final few tables in this event, including two-time bracelet winner David Jackson (16th), five-time WSOP Circuit ring winner Preston McEwen (15th), and two-time WSOPC ring winner Spencer Champlin (12th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Jay Lockett $262,526 660
2 Jie Fu $162,207 550
3 Diego Acquila $121,085 440
4 Matthew Thom $91,066 330
5 Muaaz Ghani $69,007 275
6 Bandi Byambajav $52,690 220
7 Shannon Boone $40,540 165
8 David Hirst $31,433 110
9 Ibrahim Tarim $24,562 55

2023 WSOP $1,500 Super Turbo Bounty No-Limit Hold’em

Pengfei WangThe $1,500 no-limit hold’em super turbo bounty event was slated to take just a single day to complete, but a huge turnout of 2,226 entries resulted in the addition of an unscheduled second day of action.

When the dust settled in this brisk knockout event, Pengfei Wang was the last player left standing. The Stanton, CA resident earned $270,700 from the main prize pool to go along with his first gold bracelet. This was Wang’s first-ever live tournament cash.

Wang outlasted several notables en route to the win, including 2023 European Poker Tour Paris main event third-place finisher fabric Bigot (10th), WSOP Circuit Grand Victoria Casino main event winner Frank Lagodich (9th), 2021 WSOP main event seventh-place finisher Alejandro Lococo (7th), and Anthony Gargano (6th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Pengfei Wang $270,700 1080
2 William Linden $167,339 900
3 Chen-An Lin $123,198 720
4 Kenneth Maurer $91,558 540
5 Michael Burns $68,693 450
6 Anthony Gargano $52,034 360
7 Alejandro Lococo $39,799 270
8 Danny Scott $30,740 180
9 Frank Lagodich $23,978 90

Visit the Card Player 2023 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest event results. WSOP coverage sponsored by Global Poker.

Winner photo credits: WSOP / Spenser Sembrat, Rachel Kay Miller, and Alicia Skillman.