Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Cody Bell, Ronnie Day, and Vadim Shlez Latest Winners At 2023 World Series of Poker

A Look At The Results From Recent Events To Wrap At The 54th Annual WSOP


Seven bracelets have already been awarded at the 2023 World Series of Poker, with more than $10.8 million in total prize money paid out across the one online and six live events that have wrapped up so far.

2023 WSOP Online $333 No-Limit Hold’em Triple Treys Summer Tip Off

Cody Bell at the 2018 Card Player Poker Tour Bicycle Casino Final TableThe first online event was held on for players within the borders of Nevada and New Jersey. The no-limit hold’em tournament ran on Thursday, June 1, and featured a $333 buy-in. A total of 1,330 entries were made in the ‘Triple Treys Summer Tip Off’, creating a prize pool of $634,800.

In the end, the bracelet and the largest share of that money was awarded to Cody Bell, who earned $87,665 as the first online WSOP winner of 2023. This was the first bracelet earned by Bell, who played under the screen name ‘1eggadaymike’. He came into this event with more than $400,000 in prior tournament earnings.

Other big names that ran deep in that tournament included World Poker Tour champion Ben ‘Pr0spector88’ Palmer (7th – $14,409), bracelet winner Steve ‘gborooo’ Gross (13th – $4,951), Jonathan ‘norcalho’ Tomayo (5th – $4,591), and Vanessa ‘ContainsNuts’ Kade (35th – $1,904).

Full real-name results have not yet been released. Below is a look at the results from the final table:

Place Player Earnings
1 Cody ‘1eggadaymike’ Bell $87,665
2 Douglas ‘OpenOpen’ May $63,987
3 Fzzypenguin’ $47,038
4 JLEbrun’ $34,850
5 CN_23’ $25,772
6 Nicholas ‘MrFinalT’ Kiley $19,234
7 Benjamin ‘Pr0spector88’ Palmer $14,409
8 theBAGEL’ $10,918

2023 WSOP Tournament of Champions

Ronnie DayThe 2023 WSOP Tournament of Champions featured a $1,000,000 prize pool, posted by the WSOP, with a WSOP bracelet or WSOP Circuit ring win from the last year being a requisite to participate.

After four days of tournament action, it was Ohio resident Ronnie Day who emerged victorious with the title, the bracelet, and $200,000 in prize money. Day qualified for this tournament just a few weeks before it began, taking down a $400 buy-in ‘Monster Stack’ event at the WSOP Circuit stop at Caesars Southern Indiana for $46,374 and his first gold ring.

With these two big wins under his belt, he now has nearly $500,000 in recorded tournament earnings.

Other notables who cashed in this invitational event include two-time ring winner Patrick White (3rd- $87,000), three-time ring winner Zachary Gruneberg (9th – $16,000), two-time ring winner Frank Lagodich (15th – $7,800), and bracelet winner Jason Somerville (23rd – $6,400).

Here is a look at the payouts awarded to the top nine finishers:

Place Player Earnings
1 Ronnie Day $200,000
2 Kenneth Gregory $120,000
3 Patrick White $87,000
4 Hunter Mcclelland $63,000
5 Wissam Gahshan $46,000
6 Justin Hotte-Mckinnon $35,000
7 Barry Schultz $26,000
8 Daniel Marx $20,000
9 Zachary Gruneberg $16,000

2023 WSOP $1,500 Limit Hold’em

Vadim ShlezOn Saturday, June 3, the 2023 WSOP $1,500 limit hold’em event came to a close, with Ukraine’s Vadim Shlez coming out on top. Shlez defeated a field of 527 entries to secure his first gold bracelet and the top prize of $146,835.

This was Shlez’s second-largest tournament score behind the $533,210 he secured as the 2011 Borgata Winter Open championship event. He now has more than $1.3 million in lifetime earnings.

The strong turnout for this event resulted in a $703,545 prize pool, with the top 80 finishers sharing in those spoils. Among those that made the money were bracelet winner Yueqi Zhu (26th -$4,163), Bill Klein (22nd – $4,843), five-time bracelet winner Adam Friedman (18th – $4,843), and recent WPT Rolling Thunder main event winner Scott Eskenazi (10th – $8,609).

Two-time bracelet winner and WPT main event champion David ‘ODB’ Baker placed 8th for $13,917 after a roller-coaster final day. Shlez defeated fellow Ukrainian Rostyslav Sabishchenko heads-up to secure the title, sending his countryman to the rail with $90,753 for his runner-up showing.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Vadim Shlez $146,835 840
2 Rostyslav Sabishchenko $90,753 700
3 Kerry Welsh $63,577 560
4 Raul Celaya $45,301 420
5 John Armbrust $32,840 350
6 Chairud Vangchailued $24,228 280
7 Jason Dong $18,196 210
8 David Baker $13,917 140
9 Matthew Dames $10,843 70

Visit the Card Player 2023 World Series of Poker page for schedules, news, interviews, and the latest event results.

Winner photo credit for Day and Shlez: WSOP / Spenser Sembrat, Rachel Kay Miller.