Poker Coverage:

Alexandros Theologis Wins 2021 World Series of Poker Online $25,000 High Roller

The Greek Player Overcame A Stacked Final Table To Win $1.2 Million and His First WSOP Gold Bracelet


The highest buy-in event of the 2021 World Series of Poker Online is officially in the books. The $25,000 no-limit hold’em super high roller championship drew a massive field of 255 entries, blowing away the $5 million guarantee to create a final prize pool of $6,247,500. After two days of high-stakes action, Greece’s Alexandros Theologis emerged victorious from the tough field, earning $1,212,033 and his first WSOP gold bracelet for the win.

This was Theologis’ first seven-figure tournament payday, and by far the largest of his career. His previous top score came when he earned $329,122 as the runner-up in the $8,000 HKD buy-in ‘Asia Championship’ event held during last year’s WSOPO.

The final table began with two-time WSOP bracelet winner Kahle Burns in the chip lead, with Wenjie Huang in second chip position and Theologis on the next-largest stack. The first knockout of the day went to Burns, with his pocket eights outracing the A-K of Timothy Nuter (9th – $151,504).

Adrian MateosThree-time WSOP bracelet winner Adrian Mateos was the next to fall. The 2017 Card Player Player of the Year award winner got all-in with AHeart Suit10Heart Suit facing the pocket queens of Theologis. Mateos made a pair of tens, but it wasn’t enough to overcome Theologis’ overpair and he was eliminated in eighth place, earning $196,476 for his latest deep run. Mateos won’t have to wait long for his next shot at his fourth bracelet, as he made the final four in the $10,000 buy-in heads-up championship, which will reconvene on Sept. 4 to determine a winner.

Rui Ferreira’s run in this event came to an end when his A-J clashed with the A-K of Huang (7th – $254,798). Huang took the lead as a result of the hand. Eduardo Silva followed Ferreira to the virtual rail when his pocket tens couldn’t outrun the K-Q of Burns, who rivered a pair of queens to close the gap on a Huang. Silva earned $330,433 as the sixth-place finisher.

Two-time bracelet winner Mark Radoja was the shortest stack during five-handed play. He ultimately got the last of his stack in preflop with ADiamond Suit10Club Suit, only to run into the AHeart SuitJHeart Suit of Anatoly Filatov. The Russian high-stakes tournament regular flopped the nut flush to leave Radoja drawing dead. The Canadian poker was awarded $428,518 for his fifth-place showing.

Filatov lost a key pot with his flopped top pair losing to the rivered flush of Huang to find himself as the clear short stack. Not long after that he got all-in with JClub Suit10Club Suit against the KClub SuitQSpade Suit of Theologis. Filatov flopped a pair of jacks to take the lead, but Theilogis rivered a higher pair to send Filatov home with $555,720. The score increased his career earnings to more than $6.2 million.

Kahle BurnsWith that Theologis took more than a 3:1 chip lead on the next largest stack heading into three-handed action. He further added to that lead when his pocket eights held against the pocket fives of Huang to set up a heads-up showdown with Burns. Huang finished third for $720,679.

Burns found one double-up but was still at a 5:1 chip disadvantage even after winning that hand. He was all-in and at risk shortly after that, with his AHeart Suit10Spade Suit leading the ADiamond Suit6Diamond Suit of Theologis. The board ran out KClub Suit9Heart Suit4Heart SuitQSpade Suit6Club Suit, with Theologis riveting a pair of sixes to lock up the pot and the title.

Burns earned $934,604 after falling just short of securing his third bracelet. The Australian increased his lifetime earnings to over $11.9 million with this huge score, the third largest of his career.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table in this event:

Place Player Earnings
1 Alexandros Theologis $1,212,033
2 Kahle Burns $934,604
3 Wenjie Huang $720,679
4 Anatoly Filatov $555,720
5 Mark Radoja $428,518
6 Eduardo Silva $330,433
7 Rui Ferreira $254,798
8 Adrian Mateos $196,476
9 Timothy Nuter $151,504