Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

WSOP Circuit Season Finale: Soheb Porbandarwala, Alan Sternberg Among Early Ring Winners

A Look At The First Six Champions Decided In the WSOP Circuit's Season-Ending Series


The first six events of the 2020 World Series of Poker Circuit Online Season Finale are officially in the books, with as many WSOPC gold rings have been awarded to the half-dozen champions decided during the first six days of action.

The kickoff event of the series was a $100,000 guaranteed 215 buy-in no-limit hold’em double re-entry event that drew a total of 886 entries to create a final prize pool of $177,220. In the end, the largest share of that money was awarded to John ‘YoungGunz21’ Reed, who emerged victorious with the top prize of $42,528 and their first WSOPC gold ring.

Othe big names at the final table included a pair of WSOP bracelet winners in Ankush ‘rickrosstheb’ Mandavia (5th – $9,391) and Joseph ‘biueberry’ Cheong (6th – $7,619).

Soheb 'tommyconway6' PorbandarwalaThe next event on the schedule was another $100,000 guaranteed tournament. The $320 buy-in no-limit hold’em double re-entry event attracted a total of 615 entries to grow the prize pool to $184,500. Stamford, CT resident Soheb ‘tommyconway6’ Porbandarwala came out on top, securing $46,125 and his fifth WSOPC ring. Porbandarwala’s largest previous score came when he won a $580 buy-in WSOPC event at Foxwoods for $124,456. He is also a two-time WSOPC main event champion, having won the Winter Online Circuit main event in early March of this year and the WSOPC Atlantic City $1,675 buy-in main event bach in spring of 2018.

Porbandarwala overcame a tough final table that included the likes of Jeremy “nothingpersnl” Kottler (2nd – $25,830), Ian “apokerjoker2” Steinman (4th – $11,992), Joseph “biueberry” Cheong (8th – $4,243), and Brittney “blondewonder” Stout (9th – $2,768). Cheong was at his second final table in as many days.

Event 3 was a $100,000 guaranteed, $250 buy-in no-limit hold’em turbo deepstack double re-entry tournament. Jose “Aiden13” Ramos was the last player seated. The Camden, NJ resident earned $23,810 and his first gold ring as the champion of this event, just days after finishing second in the kickoff event for $22,504.

WSOPC ring winner Jason Rivkin finished eight for $3,256, while WSOP bracelet winner and World Poker Tour champion Jared “DarrensRabbi” Jaffee earned his first cash of the series by placing 16th for $1,105.

The fourth event on the schedule was the ‘Big 500’, a $150,000 guaranteed $500 buy-in no-limit hold’em event with triple re-entry. The tournament attracted a total of 422 entries to create a final prize pool of $197,074. The biggest slice of that pie was served to Kyle “iwant2win” Marlborough, who took home $52,225 and his first gold ring as the victor. Marlborough had finished 3rd in event 2 just two days earlier for $15,683. 2014 WSOP main event seventh-place finisher Daniel “feeltheflow” Sindelar earned $17,441 for a third-place showing in this event, while two-time bracelet winner Shankar “burgersssss” Pillai cashed for $7,095 as the seventh-place finisher. Nine-time ring winner and 2019 bracelet winner Ari “philivey” Engel earned $3,350 for finishing ninth.

Alan "mossadshark" SternbergThe largest event of the series thus far was the $200,000 guaranteed, $525 buy-in ‘Monster Stack’ no-limit hold’em triple re-entry event. The tournament drew a total of 663 total entries to blow away the guarantee, creating a final prize pool of $331,500. 2019 WSOP $3,000 pot-limit Omaha event winner and 2011 World Poker Tour Bay 101 Shooting Star champion Alan “mossadshark” Sternberg emerged victorious in this event, earning his third WSOPC ring and the top prize of $81,218.

Sternberg faced a stacked final table that featured the likes of 2016 WSOP main event runner-up Gordon “veilleux” Vayo (3rd – $27,846), Jared “DarrensRabbi” Jaffee (5th – $17,901), and WSOP bracelet winners Jim “BOCARATONE” Collopy (6th – $14,586) and Michael “itwasthator0” Gagliano (7th – $10,940).

The sixth event of the series was a $100,000 guaranteed $320 buy-in no-limit hold’em freezeout which saw 419 players enter to build a $125,700 prize pool. David “TheClubber” Larson earned the top prize of $30,797 after defeating Mark “degen97” Strodl heads-up for the title. World Poker Tour champion Justin “tamaratibles” Young finished third for $10,559, while Mike “THICC” Del Vecchio (7th -$4,148) and Ian “apokerjoker2” Steinman (8th – $2,765) also made the final table.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final tables of these events:

Event 1 – $215 No-Limit Hold’em $100K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 John “YoungGunz21” Reed $42,528
2 Jose “Aiden13” Ramos $22,504
3 Jonathan “realmakow73” Makarowitz $14,708
4 Josh “YoelRomero” King $11,164
5 Ankush “rickrosstheb” Mandavia $9,392
6 Joseph “biueberry” Cheong $7,620
7 Zachary “dabledore7” Lipeles $5,670
8 “Simba888” $3,721
9 Eric “CircusChimp” Elliott $2,481

Event 2 – $320 No-Limit Hold’em $100K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 Soheb “tommyconway6” Porbandarwala $46,125
2 Jeremy “nothingpersnl” Kottler $25,830
3 Kyle “iwant2win” Marlborough $15,683
4 Ian “apokerjoker2” Steinman $11,993
5 Matthew “MattyFlushes” Larkin $10,148
6 “dunningkrugr” $8,302
7 Chad “clayne” Layne $6,273
8 Joseph “biueberry” Cheong $4,244
9 Brittney “blondewonder” Barnes $2,768

Event 3 – $250 No-Limit Hold’em Deepstack Turbo $100K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 Jose “Aiden13” Ramos $23,810
2 Brett “herrrooooo” Reiss $17,626
3 Daniel “centrfieldr” Lupo $12,995
4 “kingkush911” $9,530
5 “Tmoney55” $7,409
6 Peterpaul “howaboutthat” Shaker $5,661
7 David “AvidSmores” Somers $4,287
8 Jason “JayRiv” Rivkin $3,256
9 Christopher “Bilbobuyins” McNulty $2,450

Event 4 – $500 No-Limit Hold’em BIG 500 $150K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 Kyle "iwant2win Marlborough $52,225
2 Patrick “Synesthesia” Eskandar $30,546
3 Dan “feeltheflow” Sindelar $17,441
4 Matthew “RustinCohle” Diehl $13,401
5 Anthony “boom81boom” Chin $11,430
6 Jack “JACKKASH” Kashishian $9,460
7 Shankar “burgersssss” Pillai $7,095
8 Gino “burritoboy28” Gesso $4,730
9 Ari “philivey” Engel $3,350

Event 5 – $525 No-Limit Hold’em Monster Stack $200K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 Alan “mossadshark” Sternberg $81,218
2 “mizer3” $45,581
3 Gordon “veilleux” Vayo $27,846
4 Joseph “Jah_Dan” Spanne $21,216
5 Jared “DarrensRabbi” Jaffee $17,901
6 Jim “BOCARATONE” Collopy $14,586
7 Michael “itwasthator0” Gagliano $10,940
8 “kingofnvaces” $7,293
9 Amber “JackalAI” Chatwin $4,807

Event 6 – $320 No-Limit Hold’em Freezeout $100K GTD

Place Name Earnings
1 David “TheClubber” Larson $30,797
2 Mark “degen97” Strodl $17,284
3 Justin “tamaratibles” Young $10,559
4 Daniel “stayactive” Chan $8,045
5 Dann “SilasSilver” Turner $6,788
6 Jeffrey “JefferinoH1” Hong $5,531
7 Mike “THICC” Del Vecchio $4,148
8 Ian “apokerjoker2” Steinman $2,765
9 Brent “grebnrets” Roberts $1,823

Sternberg photo credit: Seminole Hard Rock Poker Blog.