Poker Coverage:

Strip Poker: Orleans Open Comes to an End

James Van Alstyne Wins the $1,000 Buy-in No-limit Hold'em Championship


In this new "Strip Poker" series, Card Player covers the Las Vegas poker scene - on the Strip and around the city.

James Van Alstyne added to his Card Player Player of the Year (POY) points yesterday when he won the 2007 Orleans Open $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold'em championship tournament.

The event attracted a total field of 219 players, which generated a prize pool of more than $210,000. Van Alstyne took home just under $58,000 and increased his spot in the POY standings from eighth to fourth place.

Another player who made the final table was Eric Narciso. He recently won a World Series of Poker bracelet in the $500 buy-in employees' event.

Here are the final table payouts:

  • James Van Alstyne: $57,815
  • Randell Froscheroser: $36,790
  • Dan Lemieux: $24,390
  • Tony Makasovski: $16,820
  • Eric Narciso: $12,615
  • Vgur Marangoz: $9,460
  • Sonny Lee: $7,360
  • Randall Witt: $5,465
  • Sonny Mayes: $3,570

"We were very pleased with the results, considering we ran the tournament series just after the World Series of Poker ended," said Marlin Berland, a tournament director of the Orleans Open for the past nine years.

The 16 events of the Orleans Open attracted around 3,900 entrants, which generated a cumulative prize pool of more than $1.2 million. Among the well-known Las Vegas regulars who cashed in these events are Marsha Waggoner, Kenna James, and Allen Kessler.

"We catered to the local players, because we are a local club. From what we've seen, the players really enjoyed it," said Berland.

For more information on the Orleans poker room or upcoming tournaments, call 702-365-7150.

To view the results of all of the events, click here.