Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Robert Campbell Wins His Second WSOP Bracelet of 2019

Australian Tops Field of 151 To Take Down The $10,000 Seven Card Stud Eight-or-Better Championship For $385,763


Each and every year since 2000 a player has won two or more bracelets during the World Series of Poker. The incredible run was kickstarted by Chris Ferguson, who took down both a $2,500 seven-card stud event and the main event at the start of the new millennium. In 2019 Robert Campbell made sure that the streak would continue by taking down his second WSOP title of the summer. Just over two weeks after he won the $1,500 deuce-to-seven triple draw lowball event, Campbell again emerged victorious in the $10,000 seven-card stud eight-or-better championship. The 35-year-old Australian Esports CEO earned $385,763 for his latest trip to the winner’s circle.

“This summer, I had probably played less poker than I have ever played and I felt really, really excited to play. I was more excited, like really excited to come to Vegas. Much more than I have in the past,” Campbell said after coming out on top.

In addition to the bracelet and the money, Campbell also earned 720 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his fourth final-table finish and second title of the year. The win was enough to catapult him into 42nd place in the 2019 POY race, which is sponsored by Global Poker.

The final day of this event began with 16 players remaining. Campbell was squarely in the middle of the pack, while several big names sat atop the leaderboard including Eli Elezra, Mike Matusow and Anthony Zinno. Of those three stars, only Matusow managed to make the official final table. Recent WSOP $1,500 pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better champion Zinno was eliminated in 12th place, while 2019 $1,5000 seven-card stud champion Elezra finished 11th. Both earned $23,664 for their deep runs.

By the time the official final table was set, Campbell had climber near the top of the chip counts. Yueqi Zhu was fresh off of a runner-up showing in the $1,500 mixed Omaha eight-or-better event. He knocked out Andrey Zhigalov in seventh place ($46,999) and scooped Mike Matusow to end “The Mouth’s” run in fourth place ($116,255).

Yueqi ZhuCampbell made queens up to bust Mike Wattel in third place ($164,647) to take a solid lead into heads-up play against Zhu. According to Campbell himself, he ran very well during heads-up play.

“He just got barbecued that poor man. It’s just outrageous. Even when I thought I lost I won. That’s how sick I ran,” said Campbell. “It’s like you bet on roulette and you bet on number 16 and it comes up number 17 and you’re walking away from the table and an earthquake comes and pushes it to 16 and you’ve won a thousand dollars.”

By the time the final hand was dealt, Campbell had built more than a 22-to-1 lead. Zhu’s last chips got in on third street with buried tens up against split aces. The boards ran out as follows:

Zhu: (10Spade Suit10Heart Suit) QSpade Suit3Heart SuitQHeart Suit5Spade Suit (4Club Suit)
Campbell: (AHeart Suit10Club Suit) AClub SuitQDiamond SuitJHeart Suit8Spade Suit (9Heart Suit)

Campbell ended up making a queen-high straight to scoop Zhu’s two pair and send him home in second place. Zhu earned $238,420 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Robert Campbell $385,763 720
2 Yueqi Zhu $238,420 600
3 Michael Wattel $164,647 480
4 Mike Matusow $116,255 360
5 Ryan Hughes $83,971 300
6 Qinghai Pan $62,079 240
7 Andrey Zhigalov $46,999 180
8 Steven Wolansky $36,460 120

Here is a look at the list of multiple bracelet winners since 2000:

2019: Robert Campbell
2018: Shaun Deeb, Justin Bonomo, Joe Cada
2017: Nipun Java, David Bach
2016: Ian Johns, Jason Mercier, Benny Glaser
2015: Max Pescatori, Brian Hastings
2014: George Danzer
2013: Tom Schneider
2012: Greg Merson
2011: Brian Rast
2010: Frank Kassela
2009: Jeff Lisandro (3), Brock Parker, Greg Mueller, Phil Ivey
2008: John Phan
2007: Tom Schneider
2006: Bill Chen, Jeff Madsen
2005: Mark Seif
2004: Ted Forrest, Scott Fischman
2003: Chris Ferguson, Men Nguyen, Phil Hellmuth, John Juanda, Johnny Chan, Layne Flack
2002: Phil Ivey (3), Layne Flack
2001: Scotty Nguyen, Nani Dollison
2000: Chris Ferguson

For more coverage from the summer series, check out the 2019 WSOP landing page, complete with a full schedule, results, news, player interviews, and event recaps.