Poker Coverage:

Circuit Grinder Andrew Donabedian Wins World Series Of Poker $600 Pot-Limit Omaha Deepstack

Las Vegas Poker Pro Scores First Bracelet And $205,605 First-Place Prize


The first ever $600 pot-limit Omaha deepstack event at the World Series of Poker drew a field of 2,577 entries, creating a total prize pool of $1,352,925. The increased starting stack and enormous field size forced the tournament to go an extra day, with the final 12 players returning to the Rio Wednesday afternoon to battle to a bracelet.

In the end, the bracelet and the $205,605 first-place prize went to Las Vegas-based poker pro Andrew Donabedian. The California-born Donabedian is a regular grinder on the WSOP Circuit, but had never managed to secure gold before despite a handful of final table appearances.

“Winning a bracelet is awesome honestly," Donabedian told WSOP reporters. "I got a bracelet before I got a ring, I play a lot of circuit events and got a lot of second and thirds, but no win yet. I guess I was saving the win for the bracelet. I don’t feel like I need to win a ring now, because I have one better.”

Donabedian managed to take the rest of his heads-up opponent Todd Dreyer’s stack on a flop of JClub Suit10Spade Suit8Diamond Suit. Dreyer made his final move with 9Spade Suit8Spade Suit5Heart Suit4Heart Suit, but Donabedian had him drawing very slim with KHeart SuitQDiamond SuitJHeart Suit9Diamond Suit for a flopped straight. The turn and river fell 10Club Suit8Club Suit, and Donabedian dragged the final pot of the tournament.

In addition to the money, Donabedian also earned 600 Card Player Player of the Year points for his win. The POY is sponsored by Global Poker.

Other notable poker pros who made a deep run in the event inlcluded Tom Franklin (7th), Alex Condon (9th), Zach Gruneberg (17th), Will Failla (25th), Upeshka De Silva (26th), Mark Radoja (27th), Vincent Moscati (32nd), Danny Wong (33rd), and Chris Moorman (57th).

Here is a look at the final table results.

Place Player Payout POY Points
1 Andrew Donabedian $205,605 600
2 Todd Dreyer $126,948 500
3 Robert Valden $92,672 400
4 Corey Wright $68,258 300
5 Mihai Niste $50,732 250
6 Alexandru Ivan $38,051 200
7 Tom Franklin $28,803 150
8 Florian Fuchs $22,006 100
9 Alex Condon $16,971 50

For more coverage from the summer series, check out the 2019 WSOP landing page, complete with a full schedule, results, news, player interviews, and event recaps.