Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Larry Greenberg Wins Inaugural WPT Bellagio Elite Poker Championship

Businessman Outlasts A Field of 126 Entries To Win $378,879


Larry Greenberg has won his first major live tournament poker title. The businessman from Weston, Massachusetts overcame a field of 126 players to win the inaugural World Poker Tour Bellagio Elite Poker Championship $10,400 no-limit hold’em main event.
Greenberg was awarded $378,879 and 660 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win.

This was Greenberg’s second largest live tournament cash, behind his 10th-place finish in the 2013 World Series of Poker $111,111 One Drop High Roller for $384,122. The money manager now has more than $1.6 million in lifetime tournament earnings.

Greenberg entered the final table in second chip position among the five players who made it to the ultimate day of this event. He eliminated 2014 WPT bestbet Poker Scramble main event champion Ryan Van Sanford in fifth place to take a dominating lead. Van Sanford had picked up the JDiamond SuitJClub Suit, but had run into the ASpade SuitAHeart Suit of Greenberg. The two got all-in preflop and the board came down 10Heart Suit8Heart Suit8Diamond Suit8Spade SuitQSpade Suit to send Van Sanford to the rail with $78,221.

Greenberg scored two more knockouts, sending Adrian Garduno (4th – $100,832) and Jim Collopy (3rd – $146,644) to the rail to take an incredible 46-to-1 chip lead over Danny Quatmi, who entered heads-up play with just 5 big blinds. On the first hand of heads-up play Qutami got all-in with the KHeart Suit7Club Suit and was called by Greenberg with the ASpade SuitQClub Suit. Greenberg paired his queen on the flop and Qutami never improved. He was eliminated in second place, earning $223,663.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Lawrence Greenberg $378,879 660
2 Danny Qutami $223,663 550
3 Jim Collopy $146,644 440
4 Adrian Garduno $100,832 330
5 Ryan Van Sanford $78,221 275
6 Cary Katz $60,499 220
7 Benjamin Palmer $47,666 165
8 Kevin MacPhee $34,833 110
9 Sean Winter $24,444 55

Photo credit: Jayne Furman / WPT.