Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Rifat Palevic Wins 2017 World Series of Poker $1,000 Super Turbo Bounty Event

Swedish Poker Pro Wins A Bracelet In 15 Hours of Play


Card Player’s 2017 WSOP coverage is sponsored by BetOnline Poker.

Winning a World Series of Poker gold bracelet and $183,903 was all in a day’s work for Rifat Palevic. The poker pro from Malmoe, Sweden outlasted a field of 1,868 entrants in the 2017 WSOP $1,000 super turbo bounty no-limit hold’em event to win his first gold bracelet, and the whole tournament lasted roughly 15 hours. The event kicked off at 11:00 a.m. local time and wrapped up at roughly 2:00 a.m. Levels were only 20 minutes long in this tournament, with the action spurred on even more by the fact that there were $300 bounties awarded for each knockout scored.

“Everything is going through my mind right now,” Palevic told WSOP reporters after his win. He then went on to espouse his love for the turbo format of this event. “It couldn’t be better. It was born for me. I like turbo tournaments. I also like normal tournaments, but I really liked this tournament. It was nice with the bounties. Everything was nice. I like to play tournaments over here in the United States.”

Palevic was the chip leader coming into the unofficial final table of 10. He then proceeded to bust the ninth, eighth, fifth and third place finishers to set up a heads-up match with Ryan Olisar. Palevic began at roughly 2-to-1 chip disadvantage to Olisar, but was able to double up to turn the tables right away. On the final hand of the event Olisar moved all in for his last 1.5 million from the button holding the JDiamond Suit8Spade Suit only to get snap-called by Palevic who was dealt the KSpade SuitKHeart Suit. The board ran out 5Heart Suit3Heart Suit3Diamond Suit7Heart Suit9Spade Suit and Olisar was sent to the rail in second place, earning $113,581 for his deep run.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Rifat Palevic $183,903 1080
2 Ryan Olisar $113,581 900
3 Dean Blatt $82,227 720
4 Robert Heioorn $60,132 540
5 Rick Hollman $44,424 450
6 Joseph Monahan $33,160 360
7 Gavin O’Rourke $25,010 270
8 George Dolofan $19,063 180
9 Victor Kim $14,685 90

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2017 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

If you can’t make it down to the WSOP at the Rio, you can still play with BetOnline Poker. Click the banner below for more information. Card Player readers are eligible for an initial deposit bonus offer of 100 percent up to $2,500. Enter code ‘NEWBOL