Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets

Kyle Bowker Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $3,000 PLO Eight-Or-Better Event

Bowker Earns First Gold Bracelet and $294,960


The $3,000 buy-in pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better tournament at the 2016 World Series of Poker proved to be popular with the players, drawing a field of 473 while creating a total prize pool of $1,291,290.

The eventual winner was none other than veteran grinder Kyle Bowker, who scored his first gold bracelet and a first-place prize worth $294,960. Bowker, from Walton, New York, now has nearly $2.9 million in live tournament earnings, and another $1.8 million online.

“I’ve been playing professionally for ten years," said Bowker. “I’ve probably played in 200 of these [WSOP] events. So, now to finally get a win after all that and towards the end of the series is pretty awesome.”

The 33-year-old poker pro defeated Kate Hoang heads-up, stopping her from becoming the third woman to win an open event this summer. She settled for the $182,281 consolation prize. Other notables at the final table included Richard Ashby (4th), Noah Bronstein (6th) and Scott Clements (8th).

Players who finished in the money included Marco Johnson (11th), Ari Engel (14th), Jon Turner (15th), Blair Rodman (20th), Ben Yu (21st), David Levi (27th), Brendan Taylor (28th), Galen Hall (30th), Adam Owen (34th), Andrey Zaichenko (35th), Cliff Josephy (26th), John Cernuto (41st), Jameson Painter (44th), Tom Schneider (49th) and Brett Shaffer (65th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout POY Points
1 Kyle Bowker $294,960 1,080
2 Kate Hoang $182,281 900
3 Jarred Graham $124,360 720
4 Richard Ashby $86,422 540
5 Christopher Ruby $61,196 450
6 Noah Bronstein $44,171 360
7 Daniel Lowe $32,510 270
8 Scott Clements $24,409 180
9 Paul Taylor $18,702 90

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.