Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets

Ankush Mandavia Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $5,000 No-Limit Hold'em Turbo Event

Mandavia Earns First Career Bracelet and $548,139


The $5,000 buy-in turbo no-limit hold’em event at the 2016 World Series of Poker attracted 524 entrants, creating a total prize pool of $2,462,000. Because the structure called for 30-minute levels instead of 60-minute levels, the tournament ended in just two days.

Despite the quality field, the action remained fast and furious from start to finish. When the dust finally settled, it was 29-year-old Georgia resident Ankush Mandavia who came away with the title, the bracelet and the $548,139 first-place prize.

This was the second biggest score of Mandavia’s career. In January, he finished third in the $100,000 buy-in Super High Roller at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure for $787,640. He now sits in 22nd place overall in the Card Player Player of the Year race.

“I’ve had a lot of deep runs in the past, but until now had never closed the deal,” Mandavia said. “So, it’s really gratifying to win. It feels really good.”

Phil Hellmuth, who leads the poker world with 14 gold bracelets, made the final table and finished in eighth place, for $46,553. This was his 54th final table at the WSOP, which is by far the most in poker history. His next closest competitor, Men Nguyen, has made 39 final tables.

Jason Mercier, who has a sizable lead in the WSOP Player of the Year race, finished in 30th place. He now has nine cashes this summer, including four final-table appearances.

Other notables who made deep runs included Daniel Strelitz (2nd), Sean Getzwiller (6th), Kyle Julius (9th), Max Silver (10th), Joe Cada (11th), Jeremy Ausmus (15th), Hans Winzeler (19th), Dietrich Fast (20th), Assani Fisher (22nd), Davidi Kitai (23rd) Mike McDonald (24th), John Racener (26th) and Michael Mizrachi (27th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout POY Points
1 Ankush Mandavia $548,139 1,680
2 Daniel Strelitz $338,774 1,400
3 Christian Nilles $232,934 1,120
4 Thiago Macedo $162,924 840
5 Pedro Oliveira $115,957 700
6 Sean Getzwiller $84,004 560
7 Sergey Lebedev $61,964 420
8 Phil Hellmuth $46,553 280
9 Kyle Julius $35,646 140

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP.