Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets

Phillip McAllister Wins 2016 World Series of Poker $3,000 No-Limit Hold'em Shootout

British Poker Pro Earns First Gold Bracelet and $267,720


It sounds simple. Just win three straight sit-n-gos, and you’ve got yourself a bracelet. But only one player from the 400 who entered the $3,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em shootout event at the 2016 World Series of Poker could actually come away with the win.

That honor went to 22-year-old British poker pro Phillip McAllister, who earned his first gold bracelet and the $267,720 first-place prize. This was the second biggest score of McAllister’s career, after banking $356,020 for his third-place showing at this year’s PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event. He now has more than $800,000 in earnings.

“It’s about the money," McAllister explained. "But the bracelet’s amazing, as well. This is pretty amazing, the more I think about it. It’s really an unusual tournament since you just have to win three sit-n-gos. It’s not at all easy. But there is some luck involved. I got lucky with my table and seat draws. Of course, the last two tables are more difficult, but I also ran very well with the table draws.”

In order to make the money, players had to win their first sit-n-go, which consisted of 10 players. They then had to win a four-player sit-n-go, before advancing to the final table of 10. McAllister got his gold by topping a final table that included top pros such as Stephen Chidwick (10th), Faraz Jaka (9th), Jesse Yaginuma (7th) and Maria Ho (4th).

Other notables who made the money included Jordan Young (12th), Joey Weissman (14th), Andrew Lichtenberger (15th), Natasha Barbour (17th), Andy Frankenberger (23rd), Tom Marchese (25th), Joe Kuether (32nd), Michael Mizrachi (36th), Tom Cannuli (37th) and Antonio Esfandiari (38th).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded in this event:

Finish Player Payout POY Points
1 Phillip McAllister $267,720 1,080
2 Kyle Montgomery $165,450 900
3 Christopher Kruk $119,686 720
4 Maria Ho $87,487 540
5 Andreas Freund $64,628 450
6 Marcos Antunes $48,252 360
7 Jesse Yaginuma $36,416 270
8 Rhys Jones $27,783 180
9 Faraz Jaka $21,431 90
10 Stephen Chidwick $16,717 45

For more coverage from the summer series, visit the 2016 WSOP landing page complete with a full schedule, news, player interviews and event recaps.

Winner photo courtesy of the WSOP