Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Aaron Mermelstein Leads Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville Main Event After Day 1A

Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville Main Event Set to Crush Guarantee


Aaron MermelsteinNumbers were high on day 1A of the Card Player Poker Tour bestbet Jacksonville main event with 164 entries on the first day of the $1,500 no-limit hold’em $300,000 guarantee marquee tournament.

World Poker Tour champion Aaron Mermelstein finished out in front of the 32 players who bagged chips for the night with a massive stack of 258,900. Recent World Series of Poker National Championship third place finisher Darryll Fish was not far behind with 214,500. Other big stacks include Richard Samonsky with 180,700, Derek Updergraff with 170,900 and Brandon Miller with 172,500.

With such a large day 1A field, a mere 59 players are needed to meet the guarantee, putting the tournament on pace to smash the expected numbers.

Pre-main event satellites were extremely successful with more than 145 unique players winning their seats prior to the start of the tournament.

World Series of Poker Circuit winner Chris Conrad, the legendary Mad Genius Mike Caro, Maurice Hawkins and John Dolan played day 1A, although each was sent to the rail before the night was over.

Former final tablists of this event Edward Gilfillin, T.K. Miles, Erik Christensen, Eddy Mroczkowski, Yi Li and former champion Harvey Vandeven all showed up on day 1A as well. Christensen, Mroczkowski and Li made it through the day.

Day 1A Chip Counts

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Aaron Mermelstein 258,900
2 Darryll Fish 214,500
3 Richard Samonsky 180,700
4 James Brown 176,200
5 Brandon Miller 172,500
6 Derek Updegraff 170,900
7 Hoi Ream 159,000
8 Talesh Patel 138,700
9 Wilbur Augenstein 129,300
10 George Woofe 120,100
11 David Trager 117,100
12 Antony Vidmer 107,200
13 Allison Hollander 103,000
14 Andrew Dykeman 98,500
15 Matthew Wright 97,200
16 Robert Wesley 93,600
17 Lawrence Paden 88,300
18 Chad DeBerry 88,000
19 Andrew Lindenfelser 87,200
20 George Levin 75,300
21 Eddy Mroczkowski 65,000
22 Erik Christensen 64,100
23 Ben Carli 64,000
24 Matthew Zimmerman 58,000
25 Diane Casino 51,200
26 Jonathan Cook 50,300
27 Yi Chi Li 49,800
28 Mike Heflin 48,900
29 John O’Neal 39,900
30 Mark Stephen Edwards 22,000
31 Rusty Stowe 18,800
32 Stephen Cheski 14,500