Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event -- Madis Muur, Mike McDonald Lead Final 20

Baron, Silver, Lefrancois and Saout Also Near Top Of Chip Counts


Day 4 is in the books in the 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure main event. Only 20 players remain from the 1,031 that entered this event, with each of them guaranteed at least a $70,700 payday, although they surely have their hopes set on taking down the title and the first-place prize of $1,820,420.

The chip leader heading into day 5 is 27-year-old Estonian poker pro Madis Muur, who will sit down with 3,515,000 on Sunday. Muur play primarily online, only participating in his first few live main event’s on the EPT after qualifying online. He finished 12th in the European Poker Tour Barcelona last fall for $77,981. Close on Muur’s heels is Mike “Timex” McDonald with 3,432,000. The Canadian poker pro is a prior EPT main event champion, having won in Dortmund in 2008 for just under $1.4 million. McDonald is drawing live at becoming the first-ever player to win two EPT main events, a feat which no one has achieved in the tour’s nine and a half seasons.

Antoine Saout“Since I won my EPT at 18 I’ve always thought it would be cool to be the first double champion,” McDonald told Card Player after play ended. “Now over the last couple years, the fact that it’s been like 90 events and nobody has won two, as opposed to the WSOP were people have won like 13 bracelets, it’s kind of cool and seems so elusive. Right now I’d guess I’m probably 15 percent likely to win this tournament, which is a legitimate chance.”

Other notables with large stacks heading into day 5 include 2007 Card Player Online Player of the Year Isaac Baron (1,556,000), recent EPT Prague finalist Max Silver (2,355,000), World Series of Poker bracelet winner Pascal Lefrancois (2,432,000) and 2009 WSOP main event finalist Antoine Saout (2,432,000).

Here is a look at the chip counts for the remaining 20 players:

Rank Player Chip Count
1 Madis Muur 3,515,000
2 Mike McDonald 3,432,000
3 Antoine Saout 2,432,000
4 Pascal Lefrancois 2,401,000
5 Max Silver 2,355,000
6 Ortiz Fabian 2,200,000
7 Shayam Srinivasan 2,129,000
8 Isaac Baron 1,556,000
9 Daniel Gamez 1,494,000
10 Dominik Panka 1,474,000
11 Tom Hall 1,241,000
12 Jorgen Sandvoll Lindebo 1,097,000
13 Allon Allison 1,000,000
14 Pal Zsibrita 907,000
15 Adrian Bussman 898,000
16 Roger Teska 874,000
17 Grayson Ramage 571,000
18 Kyle Sorel 528,000
19 Robert Auer 522,000
20 Fabio Freitas 231,000