Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Jonathan Hilton Wins World Series of Poker National Championship

Circuit Grinder Tops Max Steinberg Heads-Up To Win First Bracelet of the Summer


Jonathan Hilton has won the third annual World Series of Poker National Championship, topping the field of 127 to take home his first WSOP gold bracelet, the $355,599 first-place prize and 660 Card Player Player of the Year points.

After finishing runner-up to Dominik Nitsche for a bracelet in 2012, Hilton was able to overcome 2012 WSOP $1,000 no-limit hold’em bracelet winner Max Steinberg to win this title. Other notables who made the final table include two-time bracelet winner Brock Parker, bracelet winner Joe Tehan and 2012 WSOP main event fifth-place finisher Jeremy Ausmus.

The National Championship topped off the 2012-13 WSOP Circuit season, with a total of 100 players winning their entry by either capturing a circuit main event title, being the casino champion at one of the stops or by making the top 60 of the circuit leader board. With a $1,000,000 added for those players free of charge, members of the the WSOP Player of the Year top 100 were also able to play, but they had to buy-in for $10,000, which would be added to the prize pool. All 100 qualifiers took their seats, and 27 players opted to buy-in, building a total prize pool of $1,270,000.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Jonathan Hilton $355,599 660
2 Max Steinberg $219,799 550
3 Robert Panitch $156,743 440
4 Brock Parker $114,008 330
5 John Bowman $84,544 275
6 Joe Tehan $63,894 220
7 Nicolas Vaca-Rondon $49,187 165
8 Jeremy Ausmus $38,570 110
9 Austin Apicella $30,785 55