Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Dimitar Danchev Wins 2013 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event

Bulgarian Earns $1,859,000 And Takes Early Lead In Player Of The Year Race


Dimitar Danchev Bulgarian poker pro Dimitar Danchev has won the 2013 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure $10,300 no-limit hold’em main event, earning $1,859,000 and 2,280 Card Player Player of the Year points and taking the early lead in the POY race. The 26-year-old outlasted a field of 987 entrants in the 10th anniversary running of the PCA at the Atlantis Resort and Casino in The Bahamas, increasing his lifetime tournament earnings to just under $2.9 million as a result.

Danchev entered the final table as the second shortest stack, but he survived to three handed play and then built his stack before making it heads-up with a 2-to-1 deficit to American pro Joel Micka. Danchev was able to double up, winning a key race when his 2Heart Suit2Club Suit outran the ADiamond SuitKSpade Suit of Micka on a QHeart Suit6Diamond Suit3Heart Suit8Club Suit10Diamond Suit board.

Danchev extended his lead, and on the final hand all of the money went in preflop with Micka holding 4Heart Suit4Diamond Suit and Danchev the ADiamond SuitQHeart Suit. The board ran out ASpade Suit6Spade Suit2Club Suit10Club Suit7Club Suit to send the final pot to Danchev, securing him the title and all that came with it. Micka earned $1,190,000 and 1,900 Player of the Year points for his runner-up showing, putting him solidly into second place in the POY race in the early goings.

Jerry Wong went into the final table as the chip leader, but eventually hit the rail in third place with $725,000. Other notables at the final table included recent World Poker Tour Montreal main event champion Jonathan Roy (4th – $560,000), Owen Crowe (5th – $435,000) and Yann Dion (7th – $230,000).

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Dimitar Danchev $1,859,000 2280
2 Joel Micka $1,190,000 1900
3 Jerry Wong $725,000 1520
4 Jonathan Roy $560,000 1140
5 Owen Crowe $435,000 950
6 Andrey Shatilov $325,000 760
7 Yann Dion $230,000 570
8 Joao Nogueira $165,900 380

Photo courtesy of PokerStars/Neil Stoddart.



8 years ago

I'm not seeing Maria Ho at the final table...