Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Dung 'Gomer' Nguyen Wins WSOP $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em

Defeats Theo Tran To Win $607,200 and First WSOP Bracelet


Dung “Gomer” NguyenDung “Gomer” Nguyen has won the most recent 2012 World Series of Poker $1,500 no-limit hold’em event, capturing his first bracelet, $607,200 in prize money and 1,200 Card Player Player of the Year points, moving him into a seven-way tie for 69th place in the overall standings.

“Cards were just falling right today,” said Nguyen just after winning the title. “I wasn’t even going to play, and my buddy talked me into playing. It was like destiny.”

Nguyen’s friend had enticed him to play the event by offering to take half of his action, an investment that turned out to be incredibly profitable for both parties.

Nguyen entered the final table with a chip lead and never looked back, but despite the strong performance, he admits that he didn’t exactly feel comfortable heading into the last day of play.

Theo Tran“I was really nervous. I don’t play many tournaments, and this is the deepest I’ve ever gone in any tournament.”

His lack of comfort didn’t show, as he was able to outlast a number of seasoned professionals, including Scott Clements (10th – $34,927), David Pham (5th – $140,736), Blair Hinkle (4th – $192,734), and eventual runner-up Theo Tran (2nd – $377,565.)

This was Tran’s fourth final table at a World Series of Poker no-limit hold’em event with a buy-in between $1,000 and $2,000, and his second-time finishing as the runner-up in a WSOP event.

Tran now has lifetime live-tournament earnings of nearly $2.5 million, but is still looking for his first bracelet win.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Dung Nguyen $607,200 1200
2 Theo Tran $377,565 1000
3 Bahman Jahanguiri $267,241 800
4 Blair Hinkle $192,734 600
5 David Pham $140,736 500
6 Kristijonas Andrulis $103,995 400
7 Zachary Korik $77,791 300
8 Jeffrey Manza $58,874 200
9 Tyler Patterson $45,087 100