Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Justin Truesdell Wins World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s New Orleans Main Event

New Orleans Based Pro Earns Second Gold Ring and $204,747


Justin Truesdell With the conclusion of the $1,600 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event at Harrah’s New Orleans, the 2011-2012 World Series of Poker Circuit season has come to a close on a high note. The main event drew the largest turnout in the eight-year history of the New Orleans WSOP Circuit stop, with 694 total entrants and a total prize pool of $1,008,770.

Finding a way through this massive field, the last man standing was Justin Truesdell, a professional player from New Orleans. For the win Truesdell was awarded the $204,747 first prize, his second WSOP Circuit gold ring and 840 Card Player Player of the Year points.

The 30-year-old pro has tournament results dating back to 2005, and 82 career cashes, and is a well-respected online MTT player who has cashed for roughly $400,000 under the screen name “truesyalose.” His lifetime tournament cashes now exceed $900,000. Truesdell will be looking to greatly increase this number at the WSOP National Championship in Las Vegas this summer, which he also received entry into as a result of his win in addition to entry into the WSOP main event.

Truesdell defeated Andrew “Winners” Nguyen, a poker pro from Dallas for the title. Nguyen has cashed a total of five times in WSOP Circuit events this season, with this most recent score worth $126,693.

Here is a look at the prizes and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Justin Truesdell $204,747 840
2 Andrew Nguyen $126,693 700
3 Antony Vidmer $92,925 560
4 Daniel Lowery $69,104 420
5 Dominic Gabaldon $52,085 350
6 Michael Hallen $39,781 280
7 Shane Smith $30,782 210
8 George Miro $24,130 140
9 Ramon Martinez $19,156 70