Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Player of the Year: Phil Collins, Robert Baguley and Morten Christensen Win

An Update on the Biggest Results on the Tournament Circuit this Week


With a number of massive events looming on the horizon on both the World Poker Tour and the European Poker Tour, and the World Series of Poker just over a month away, things are about to get shaken up in the Card Player Player of the Year race sponsored by Lock Poker.

The past week’s events were not quite as sizable, but still awarded hundreds of thousands and plenty of POY points.

Here are the most significant results:

UKIPT Nottingham Main Event

Robert BaguleyRobert Baguley took down the PokerStars UK & Ireland Poker Tour Nottingham main event, topping the record-setting 1,625-player field to win £210,400.

This was the largest ever turn out for a PokerStars live event. The total prize pool reached £1,137,500, surpassing the guarantee.

In addition to his first title, Baguley was also awarded 1,080 POY points, moving him into 34th place in the overall standings. The 60-year-old typically plays in £20 tournaments and is a local at Dusk Till Dawn, where the £770 buy-in event took place.

Here is the complete payout and point for the final table:

1: Robert Baguley — £210,400 (1,080 POY points)
2: Iqbal Ahmed — £125,000
(900 POY points)
3: Grant Pirie — £96,700
(720 POY points)
4: Barry McMahon — £79,600
(540 POY points)
5: Hasmukh Khodiyara — £62,500
(450 POY points)
6: Nick Woodward — £45,500
 (360 POY points)
7: James Cummings — £34,000
(270 POY points)
8: Ian Senior — £22,750 (180 POY points)

World Poker Tour Vienna

Morten ChristensenAfter qualifying for the event online in a €300 satellite, Morten Christensen went on to top a field of 396 to take down the €3,500 World Poker Tour Vienna main event. He earned his first title, the $410,519 first prize and 900 POY points. As a result, he moved into a five-way tie for 54th place in the overall standings.

The 27-year-old has been playing online for nine years, with the past two as a professional. He beat Konstantin Tolokno heads-up for the lion’s share of the $1.65 million prize pool and added his name to the list of Danish players who have been causing a ruckus on the major European circuit of late.

Here is the complete payout and POY point information for the final table:

1. Morten Christensen — $410,519 (900 POY points)
2. Konstantin Tolokno — $251,166 (750 POY points)
3. Ben Wilinofsky — $161,003 (600 POY points)
4. Ognjen Sekularac — $111,095 (450 POY points)
5. Goswin Siemsen — $82,106 (375 POY points)
6. Norbert Szecsi — $64,318 (300 POY points)

Heartland Poker Tour Las Vegas

Phil CollinsThe most accomplished final table in the history of the Heartland Poker Tour took place at the Palms Casino in Las Vegas. The final six players, consisting of Phil Collins, Dan O’Brien, Steve Gross, Matt Marafioti, Leo Wolpert and Terry Presley, combined for nearly $20 million in lifetime earnings.

A total of 195 players posted the $1,650 buy-in, but the last man standing was 2011 WSOP main event final tablist Phil Collins. He defeated Matt Marafioti heads-up to secure his first live tournament victory and the $71,556 first-place prize.

Here is the complete payout and POY point information for the final table:

1. Phil Collins — $71,556 (336 POY points)
2. Matt Marafioti — $41,570 (280 POY points)
3. Steve Gross — $25,897 (224 POY points)
4. Leo Wolpert — $22,489 (168 POY points)
5. Dan O’Brien — $17,173 (140 POY points)
6. Terry Presley — $14,666 (112 POY points)

A Look at the Player of the Year Top 10

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1st Oliver Speidel 2,740 $1,730,371
2nd John Dibella 2,512 $1,781,418
3rd Daniel Kelly 2,378 $720,957
4th Jonathan Duhamel 2,290 $1,345,366
5th Faraz Jaka 2,200 $867,539
6th Sean Jazayeri 2,100 $1,370,240
7th David Sands 2,022 $830,530
8th Kyle Julius 2,000 $1,500,000
9th Vadzim Kursevich 1,824 $1,150,756
10th Ken Wong 1,750 $1,029,474