Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Player of the Year Update -- Scott Stanko and Kevin Vandersmissen Win

Irish Open and WSOP-C Council Bluffs Winners Score Big


Kevin VandersmissenThe Card Player Player of the Year race sponsored by Lock Poker saw no movement among the top ten this week, but with some major tournaments coming to a close around the world, there was plenty of money and POY points awarded in the past few days.

Here is a look at the biggest results:

2012 Irish Open

Kevin Vandersmissen won the €3,500 buy-in 2012 Irish Open main event, topping a 501-player field to earn his second career title. He snagged €420,000 and 1,260 POY points.

As a result, the Belgian moved into a tie for 22nd place in the overall rankings with Nicky Evans. Vandersmissen has now amassed more than $1.1 million in tournament earnings in just over two years.

Vandersmissen defeated German Thomas Beer heads-up, with Beer earning €225,000 and 1,050 POY points. Beer is now in 35th place in the overall standings.

The total prize pool amounted to €1.6 million, with 54 players making the money. A number of recognizable names cashed in the event, including James Dempsey (34th), Phil Hellmuth (33rd), Freedy Deeb (27th), Julian Gardner(18th), Jason Wheeler (15th), and Adam Levy (14th).

Scott StankoWorld Series of Poker Circuit Council Bluffs

The 2012 World Series of Poker Circuit Council Bluffs $1,600 main event drew 290 players, building a $421,950 prize pool.

The last man standing was Scott Stanko, who earned $101,266, his first WSOP Circuit gold ring and 456 POY points.

There were a number of notable cashes in the event, including runner-up Charles Moore ($62,584), recent WSOP Circuit Atlantic City champion Ryan Enriquezzo (13th), Allen Kessler (15th) Kevin Saul (28th) and Alexandru Masek (30th).

Attendance at the 2012 WSOP Circuit Council Bluffs was up 35 percent for the series over last year, with the main event seeing a 16 percent increase.

A Look at the Player of the Year Top 10

Rank Player POY Points Earnings
1st Oliver Speidel 2,740 $1,730,371
2nd John Dibella 2,512 $1,781,418
3rd Daniel Kelly 2,378 $720,957
4th Jonathan Duhamel 2,290 $1,345,366
5th Faraz Jaka 2,200 $867,539
6th Sean Jazayeri 2,100 $1,370,240
7th David Sands 2,022 $830,530
8th Kyle Julius 2,000 $1,500,000
9th Vadzim Kursevich 1,824 $1,150,756
10th Ken Wong 1,750 $1,029,474