Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Irish Poker Open Final Goes Live With Hole Cards Today

Sole Survivor Leads Irish Poker Open Main Event Final Nine At End Of Day 3


Chip leader and one of two Sole Survivors Ian SimpsonAfter three days of battles between some of the biggest names in poker, the Irish Open found its final table of nine and they will fight for the €420,000 top prize and the Terry Rogers memorial trophy today from 2 p.m. (local time). The finalists will be sequestered with no access to any form of communication as the live stream airs all the action with hole cards here at

Leading the pack is Ian Simpson, one of two Sole Survivors fighting for the €100,000 package on top of at least €23,000 in main event prize money. Experiencing the deepest run of his poker career, Simpson has just over 2 million in chips, and is followed very closely by fellow Brit David “Dixie” Dean. The other player sparring with Simpson to be the last qualifier is Philip Magennis from County Down in Northern Ireland.

Day 3 saw an array of big names hitting the rail from the 49 players who started the day including Freddy Deeb, Julian Gardner, end of day 2 chip leader Manig Loeser, and Phil Hellmuth. Unfortunate bubble boy Jim O’Callaghan hit the rail when his A-9 was beaten by David Dean and his A-10, receiving €17,850 for 10th place.

Included in the final nine is Irishman Andy Black who is on the hunt for the prestigious title, as is European Poker Tour Snowfest runner-up Kevin Vandersmissen, and Samuel Chartier who has more than $1.6 million in lifetime winnings.

Here are the final table chip counts:

Seat 1: Ian Simpson 2,007,000
Seat 2: David “Dixie” Dean 1,986,000
Seat 3: Thomas Beer 1,319,000
Seat 4: Kevin Vandersmissen 492,000
Seat 5: Andrew Black 808,000
Seat 6: Philip Magennis 632,000
Seat 7: Samuel Chartier 582,000
Seat 8: Steve Watts (1,519,000)
Seat 9: Jordan Lewis (685,000)

A slightly later start of 2 p.m. sees the final nine return in order for the top end of the €1,606,400 prize pool to be awarded. Stay tuned to Card Player as the live stream catches all the action with hole cards and exciting betting markets on the final leg of the journey to find the 2012 champion.

Sign up for PaddyPowerPoker today!.