Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

CPPT XII - DeepStack Extravaganza I

$1,600 CPPT No-Limit Hold'em $400K GTD


Andrew Rodgers Wins Card Player Poker Tour Venetian Main Event ($103,936)

The 2024 Card Player Poker Tour Venetian $1,600 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event attracted a field of 458 entries, blowing away the $400,00 guarantee to create a final prize pool of $650,360. After three starting ...


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Jeff Madsen Wins 2006 WSOP Player of the Year

Youngest Ever WSOP Bracelet Winner Beats Out Phil Hellmuth for Title


It's official.

Despite recent confusion concerning the World Series of Poker's Player of the Year race, Jeff Madsen is the clear winner with 1,467,852 points. He outraced Phil Hellmuth, who finished with 1,130,559 points.

Harrah's Rory Shanahan, who is responsible for keeping the race's statistics, confirmed the results to early this morning.

Madsen, a 21-year-old film student from California, won two WSOP bracelets ($5,000 no-limit short handed and $2,000 no limit) and made another final table. He also became the youngest bracelet winner in WSOP history.

Hellmuth won his 10th bracelet this year and made multiple final tables, including a third-place finish in Wednesday's $1,500 no-limit event. This caused some confusion among the media at the Rio (some had Hellmuth ahead of Madsen), but Shanahan assured that Madsen is indeed the WSOP Player of the Year.