Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Kurt Jewell Wins Second World Series of Poker Circuit Main Event Title In Tunica

Jewell Tops Largest Main Event Field in Harrah's Tunica History


Kurt JewellThe 2012 World Series of Poker Circuit Harrah’s Tunica Main Event drew 647 entries and built a $941,385 prize pool, the largest in the stop’s seven-year history. After three days of play, Kurt Jewell walked away as the champion with the $192,984 first prize, his second WSOP Circuit Main Event gold ring, and 840 Card Player Player of the Year points.

The Frankfurt, Kentucky native has three gold rings in total, with his first coming in the 2010 WSOPC Horseshoe Hammond Main Event. His total earnings on the WSOP Circuit alone are $485,423.

Jewell made this very same final table last year, holding over half the chips in play with eight players remaining, but a series of unfortunate events saw him exit in eighth place. This year, Jewell fought his way back to the final table and eventually made it to heads up play with 7.2 million in chips to Chris Thompson’s 5.6 million.

Things went back and forth, but Jewell held a slight lead when the final hand came up. All of the money got in preflop with Thompson holding 10Heart Suit10Club Suit against Jewell’s QSpade SuitJSpade Suit. The flop put Jewell in the lead when it brought the KClub Suit7Diamond SuitJHeart Suit.

Thompson needed to catch one of the remaining two tens to take the lead on the turn. The 10Diamond Suit rolled off, giving him a set and the lead in the hand. As if the hand wasn’t dramatic enough already, the 9Heart Suit fell on the river, completing a straight for Jewell and earning him the title.

Here is the complete payout and POY point info for the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1st Kurt Jewell $192,984 840
2nd Chris Thompson $119,415 700
3rd Dan Blakeman $87,586 560
4th Jacob Bazeley $65,134 420
5th Dustin Gardner $49,093 350
6th Steve McClusky $37,495 280
7th Michael Cooper $29,013 210
8th Todd Chew $22,744 140
9th Ray Weaver $18,056 70