Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Tuan Phan Wins World Series of Poker Circuit Atlantic City Main Event

Phan Tops 618 Player Field to WIn His First WSOP Gold RIng


Tuan Phan The World Series of Poker Circuit Atlantic City Main Event came to a close Monday night, with Tuan Phan overcoming the 618 player field to win the $188,830 first-place prize, 624 Card Player Player of the Year points and his first WSOP Circuit gold ring.

This was the largest turnout for any WSOP Circuit Main Event held in Atlantic City, with a 75 percent increase over the 352 player field for the same tournament last year. With the increased number of player putting up the $1,600 buy-in, the event had an impressive prize pool of $899,190.

Eventual champion Tuan Phan of Vienna, VA had little tournament experience before entering this, his first WSOP Circuit event. Despite that, he outlasted many tough players to enter the final table as one of the shorter stacks, and steadily accumulated chips as he made his way to heads-up play.

Phan started his one-on-one battle with Hao Le with a 2-to-1 chip advantage, and kept the lead until the final hand came up. Le had been dealt pocket aces, and slow played them in an apparent attempt to string Phan along. The ploy worked, but unfortunately for Le, Phan had lopped bottom pair and turned trips with his KHeart Suit3Club Suit. The money got all-in on the turn, and Le was unable to catch one of the two remaining aces.

Le earned $116,769 for his second-place finish, and secured the title of player of the series with his big score here and another solid cash during the WSOP Circuit Atlantic City series. Both Le and Phan are now qualified for the WSOP Circuit National Championships in Las Vegas.

Here is the complete payout and POY points information:

1. Tuan Phan — $188,190 (624 POY points)
2. Hao Le — $116,796 (520 POY points)
3. Marc Roy — $85,405 (416 POY points)
4. Larry Riggs — $63,375 (312 POY points)
5. Manh Nguyen — $36,372 (260 POY points)
6. Anthony Zinno — $36,372 (208 POY points)
7. Kevin Kaikko — $28,127 (156 POY points)
8. Denis Gnidash — $22,048 (104 POY points)
9. Michael Devinsky — $17,516 (52 POY points)