Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


The 2011 Poker Hall Of Fame Nominees

Ten Finalists Named For Two Poker Hall of Fame Spots


The finalists for the 2011 Poker Hall of Fame class were announced today by the hall’s governing council. The 18 living members of the hall and a panel of 17 media members will now determine which of the ten nominees will be inducted during the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities in November.

Here is a look at the candidates in alphabetical order.

Annie Duke
Barry Greenstein
Jennifer Harman
Linda Johnson
John Juanda
Marcel Luske
Jack McClelland
Tom McEvoy
Scotty Nguyen
Huck Seed

Of the 10 nominees, four, Greenstein, Johnson, McEvoy and Nguyen, were nominated in both 2009 and 2010. Harman was nominated for the first time last year. Thanks to a new rule that requires the candidate be at least 40 years old, 2010 nominees such as Daniel Negreanu and Phil Ivey were left off the list.

There are currently 40 members of the Poker Hall of Fame. In order to be considered, a candidate must meet certain criteria. They must have played consistently well, gaining the respect of their peers. They must have played poker against acknowledged top competition, for high stakes and have stood the test of time.

Non-players must have contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Here’s a look at the current members of the Poker Hall of Fame.

Name Year Inducted
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010