Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

PokerStars Caribbean Adventure -- NAPT Bounty Shootout Day 2

Michael Binger, Shaun Deeb, and Andrew Chen Advanced from Heat 1 -- Heat 2 Results to Follow


Shaun DeebThirty-six players returned for the second day of play in the North American Poker Tour $5,000 bounty shootout event at the 2010 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure on Friday. They were seated at six tables of six and only one player from each table would advance to the next round, which will be the final table for the event that will air on ESPN2 on Sunday.

Day 2 was split into two heats, with half of the field starting at noon and the second half contesting their heat at 7 p.m. Many big-name professionals were still in the mix when the day began, including Team PokerStars pros Dario Minieri, Barry Greenstein, and Jude Ainsworth, Jeff Madsen, Faraz Jaka, Michael and Nick Binger (who were seated at the same table), and Ville Wahlbeck. Read on below to see how each of the six finalists advanced throughout the day.

Here were the tables for the first heat, which began today noon EST:

Table 1

Seat 1: Matt Waxman
Seat 2: Dane Canelas-Miller
Seat 3: Jeff Madsen
Seat 4: Brandon Adams
Seat 5: Travis Carson
Seat 6: Andrew Chen

Table 2

Seat 1: Shaun Deeb
Seat 2: David Cairns
Seat 3: Alex Wice
Seat 4: Faraz Jaka
Seat 5: Dean Lyall
Seat 6: Toby Lewis

Table 3

Seat 1: Marton Czuczor
Seat 2: Johannes Van Til
Seat 3: Greg Debora
Seat 4: Eric Ladny
Seat 5: Michael Binger
Seat 6: Nick Binger

The three players who advanced from the first heat today were Shaun Deeb, Andrew Chen, and Michael Binger. Deeb was the first player to make the final table. His run to victory started when he cracked the pocket kings of Alex Wice with A-4 in the hole and crippled his opponent. A few hands later he cracked the pocket pair of his opponent once again to secure a spot in the final six. This time his A-2 found a companion ace on the flop to top the pocket nines of Wice.

Chen busted his final opponent quite some time later after a battle with Madsen. It came to a close when both players were racing to a flush. Chen held AClub Suit 4Club Suit against the KClub Suit 7Club Suit of Madsen. Neither player hit the flush but Chen did find another ace on the river to win the hand and advance. Binger used pocket fours to rocket past Johannes Van Til to finish off the first heat a little after 6 p.m.

Here were the tables for the second heat, which began at 7 p.m. EST:

Dario MinieriTable 4

Seat 1: Amnon Filippi
Seat 2: David “ODB” Baker
Seat 3: Marko Nuemann
Seat 4: Dario Minieri
Seat 5: Rob Tepper
Seat 6: Chris Klodnicki

Table 5

Seat 1: Andrew Seidman
Seat 2: Barry Greenstein
Seat 3: Scott Baumstein
Seat 4: Jude Ainsworth
Seat 5: Amichai Tzvi Barer
Seat 6: Daniel Colman

Table 6

Seat 1: William Pilossoph
Seat 2: Darren Elias
Seat 3: Sameul Chartier
Seat 4: Ville Wahlbeck
Seat 5: Jesse Martin
Seat 6: George Lind III

The three players who advanced from the second heat were Marko Neumann, Scott Baumstein, and Billy Pilossoph. Baumstein was the first player to advance from the second heat when he eliminated Greenstein a few hours into play. His A-6 came from behind to defeat the A-J of Greenstein on a 7-5-2-6-2 board.

Neumann won his final-table seat a short time later when his J-8 topped the J-6 of Amnon Filippi. The last spot in the final six pack was claimed by Pilossoph just after midnight. He cracked the pocket aces of Wahlbeck with A-8 in the hole on a 9-8-5-8-K board.

Check back in this weekend to see who is victorious on the final day of this event, which will take place on Sunday, Jan. 16.