Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

World Series of Poker Circuit -- Eastern Regional Championship Day 3

Chris Klodnicki and Bell Lead the Way into the Final Table


Chris KlodnickiDay 3 at the 2010 World Series of Poker Circuit Eastern Regional Championship was filled with great story lines. Some of them ended on the way to the final table, while others still have a couple of chapters left to be written at tomorrow’s final table. This tournament that serves as a period at the end of the year could very well become an exclamation point tomorrow.

You could look at the two chip leaders heading into tomorrow’s final, Chris Klodnicki (who won the 2009 WSOP Circuit Harrah’s Atlantic City $5,000 main event) or Bell (who is looking to add a gold ring to the gold bracelet he won in June). You could turn to the final-table bubble boy Matthew Waxman (who busted in 10th place today, but earned $117,797 last week as the winner of the $1,600 main event). You could even look at the fallen, like David Sands (who made a solid run at becoming the first player to make two WSOP Circuit Regional Championship final tables before busting in 25th place). Wherever you chose to look there was something to hold your attention.

Day 3 was a brisk one despite the lack of brevity in narrative richness. The field quickly played down from the final 27 to a final table of nine in just over half a dozen hours. When the dust settled here is how the chip counts looked for tomorrow’s final table:

Seat 1: Chris Bell — 706,000
Seat 2: Micah Raskin — 759,000
Seat 3: Ketan Pandya — 377,000
Seat 4: Nick Mitchell — 332,000
Seat 5: Todd Terry — 307,000
Seat 6: Andy Frankenberger — 230,000
Seat 7: Jason Burt — 579,000
Seat 8: Chris Klodnicki — 759,000
Seat 9: Seth Fischer — 219,000

The list of eliminated players today included many big-name professionals Sands and Waxman were joined by Christian Harder, Daniel Kelly, Jonathan Little, Lee Childs, and Card Player Player of the Year top contender Sorel Mizzi. Mizzi ended his 2010 campaign in the POY race with 4,851 points, good for third place overall. With his elimination, along with the earlier exits of Dwyte Pilgrim and Vanessa Selbst earlier in this event current POY leader Thomas Marchese has effectively clinched the 2010 POY award.

The final official standings will be available next week, when all eligible tournaments in 2010 have concluded. One player can make up some ground in the POY top 10 tomorrow, and that is final-table contestant Andy Frankenberger. He is currently in eighth place overall with 3,730 points and he can jump into the top five with a deep run at the final.

Six players who busted today did walk away with prize money and they were as follows:

10: Matthew Waxman — $26,232
11: Beth Shak — $26,232
12: Victor Ramdin — $26,232
13: Brett Richey — $21,600
14: Frank Calo — $21,600
15: Eugene Katchalov — $21,600

The major prize money will be up for grabs tomorrow though, so here is a breakdown of the final-table payouts:

1: $358,295
2: $221,452
3: $159,851
4: $117,457
5: $87,808
6: $66,758
7: $51,607
8: $40,538
9: $32,362

You can follow all of the action tomorrow in Card Player’s live coverage of the final table from the Harrah’s Atlantic City Resort at noon EST.