Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Sean H. Yu Wins $1 Million Guaranteed World Poker Tour $500 Event At Aria

L.A. Resident Tops Field Of 3,599 Entries To Win $260,000


The inaugural WPT500 event held at the ARIA Resort & Casino Las Vegas was a smashing success for the World Poker Tour. With a $1 million guaranteed prize pool the $500 buy-in tournament needed to draw over 2,000 entries to avoid an overlay. In the end 3,599 entries were made, blowing away the guarantee by nearly $800,000.

Seven days after this huge multi-flight event began a champion was finally decided. Los Angeles resident Sean H. Yu emerged victorious, earning $260,000 for the win after topping a tough final table that included the likes of Christian Harder (4th – $90,000) and Scott Clements (3rd – $120,500).

Yu survived to heads-up play with a chip lead over Kareem Marshall, and it took only 21 hands of one-on-one action before it was all over. Yu raised to 1,750,000 from the button and Kareem Marshall three-bet to to 6 million. Yu called and the flop brought the 10Club Suit8Spade Suit7Club Suit. Marshall moved all-in and Yu snap-called with the 10Diamond Suit7Diamond Suit for a flopped two pair. Marshall turned over the ADiamond SuitKDiamond Suit for just two over cards. The turn brought the JClub Suit to give Marshall some outs, but the AHeart Suit on the river was not one of them and Marshall was sent to the rail in second place with $180,000.

In addition to the massive prize money there were also plenty of “Card Player Player of the Year points": awarded at this final table. Yu earned 660 points for the win at his first final table of the year. Scott Clements bagged 440 for third place. This was his fourth final table of 2014, and as a result of his consistency he now sits in 55th place in the overall POY rankings with 1,624 points.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at this final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Sean H. Yu $260,000 660
2 Kareem Marshall $180,000 550
3 Scott Clements $120,500 440
4 Christian Harder $90,000 330
5 Jeffrey Ray $70,000 275
6 Luis Nargentino $55,000 220
7 Brian Benhamou $45,000 165
8 Terry Fleischer $35,000 110
9 Messadek Soufiane $26,000 55

Photo courtesy of WPT.