Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy
Wsopbanner

August 2010 Poker Tournament Trail Preview

The Poker World Heads Back Out On the Tournament Trail to Estonia and L.A.

Print-icon
 

Bicycle CasinoAugust is a month that always starts slow with a post-World Series of Poker haze that is devoid of major tournament action, but 2010 picks up steam more quickly than years past. The first major tour event is the €5,000 no-limit hold’em main event that will take place in the beautiful medieval town of Tallinn in Estonia Aug. 11-16 for the PokerStars European Poker Tour. The other big-time event that will crown a champion in August is the World Poker Tour Legends of Poker $5,000 main event. The Bicycle Casino will host the final table on Aug. 25, and when a winner is crowned it will bring the casino’s 26-event tournament series to an end.

Other tours that will feature events for the new tournament trail season include the WSOP Circuit stop at the Horseshoe in Council Bluffs, Iowa, the PokerStars Latin American Poker Tour stop in Florianopolis, and a PokerStars Australia New Zealand Poker Tour stop on the Gold Coast. The Asian Poker Tour will pull into the Philippines, and the PokerStars Italian Poker Tour has stops in Venice and San Remo. The Full Tilt Cyprus Classic will also be back for its sophomore season.

Regional events in the United States include the Detox Poker Series at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, the Indiana State Poker Championship, the Arizona State Poker Championship, the Mega Stack Challenge XVII at Foxwoods, the Gulf Coast Poker Championship in Biloxi, and The River Guaranteed $3,000,000 Poker Series in Oklahoma. California will have a busy lineup with the aforementioned Legends of Poker, the Dog Days of Summer at Ocean’s Eleven Casino, the Pala Poker Open near San Diego, and the Bay 101 Open in San Jose.

The month will finish strong with the EPT Vilamoura €5,000 main event, WPT London Poker Classic £5,000 main event, and €8,000 Partouche Poker Tour Cannes Grand Final all getting cards in the air during the closing days of the month and then spilling over into September.

Here is a look at the August 2010 Tournament Calendar of Major Main Events:

Card Player Live Coverage Event — World Poker Tour Legends of Poker

Preliminary events run July 28 – August 30

$5,000 WPT Main Event

Friday, Aug. 20: Day 1A
Saturday, Aug. 21: Day 1B
Sunday, Jan. 22: Day 2
Monday, Jan. 23: Day 3
Tuesday, Jan. 24: Day 4
Wednesday, Jan. 25: Final Table

PokerStars European Poker Tour Tallinn

€5,000 EPT Tallinn Main Event

Wednesday, Aug. 11: Day 1A
Thursday, Aug. 12: Day 1B
Friday, Aug. 13: Day 2
Saturday, Aug. 14: Day 3
Sunday, Aug. 15: Day 4
Monday, Aug. 16: Final Table

PokerStars European Poker Tour Vilamoura

€5,000 EPT Vilamoura Main Event

Saturday, Aug. 28: Day 1A
Sunday, Aug. 29: Day 1B
Monday, Aug. 30: Day 2
Tuesday, Aug. 31: Day 3
Wednesday, Sept. 1: Day 4
Thursday, Sept. 2: Final Table

World Poker Tour London Poker Classic

£5,000 WPT London Poker Classic

Monday, Aug. 30: Day 1A
Tuesday, Aug. 31: Day 1B
Wednesday, Sept. 1: Day 2
Thursday, Sept. 2: Day 3
Friday, Sept. 3: Day 4
Saturday, Sept. 4: Final Table

Partouche Poker Tour Grand Final

€8,000 PPT Cannes Main Event

Monday, Aug. 30: Day 1A
Tuesday, Aug. 31: Day 1B
Wednesday, Sept. 1: Day 1C
Thursday, Sept. 2: Day 2
Friday, Sept. 3: Day 3
Saturday, Sept. 4: Day 4
Sunday, Sept. 5: Final Table

World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Council Bluffs

$1,600 Championship Ring Event

Sunday, Aug. 29: Day 1
Monday, Aug. 30: Day 2
Tuesday, Aug. 31: Final Day

PokerStars Latin American Poker Tour – Florianopolis

$2,500 LAPT Main Event

Thursday, Aug. 5: Day 1
Friday, Aug. 6: Day 2
Saturday, Aug. 7: Day 3
Sunday, Aug. 8: Final Day

Asian Poker Tour – Philippines

$2,700 APT Main Event

Wednesday, Aug. 25: Day 1A
Thursday, Aug. 26: Day 1B
Friday, Aug. 27: Day 2
Saturday, Aug. 28: Day 3
Sunday, Aug. 29: Final Table

PokerStars Australia New Zealand Poker Tour Gold Coast

$2,251 ANZPT Main Event

Wednesday, Aug. 11: Day 1A
Thursday, Aug. 12: Day 1B
Friday, Aug. 13: Day 2
Saturday, Aug. 14: Day 3
Sunday, Aug. 15: Final Day