Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Asia Pacific Poker Tour -- Binh Nguyen Wins Manila Main Event

Nguyen Takes Home the Top Prize Worth $260,700 and the PAGCOR Chairman’s Cup


Binh NguyenThe first event for season four of the PokerStars Asia Pacific Poker Tour has come to a close in Manila, the capital city of the Philippines. The $2,700 no-limit hold’em championship event had a guaranteed prize pool of $1 million and it attracted a field of 431 players. A total prize pool of $1,042,750 was up for grabs for the top 52 players in the event. It was the largest poker tournament ever held in the Philippines in terms of players and prize pool.

The tournament was won by American professional Binh Nguyen, who was awarded $260,700 and the PAGCOR Chairman’s Cup. It was the first major tournament win for Nguyen, who previously finished in second place at the 2009 World Poker Tour L.A. Poker Classic. The victory gives Nguyen more than $1 million in tournament winnings; he has now earned $1,204,491.

The chip leader when the final table began was Choon Kwang Lim, who held 1,886,000 and he was followed closely by Gordon Huntly, who held 1,528,000. Nguyen entered the final table in sixth chip-position with 660,000 but he began to pull away from the field during short-handed play and eventually built a 3-1 chip advantage heading into the heads-up final against Huntly.

That lead evaporated when Huntly hit a king-high flush over Nguyen’s 10-high flush in a big hand. Nguyen worked his way back into the lead and the final hand came down to a coin-flip. Nguyen held pocket sevens and Gordon held K-Q. The sevens held for Nguyen and he won the tournament. Huntly was awarded $166,800 in prize money as the runner-up. The other notable professional to cash at the final table was PokerStars players Terrence Chan. He finished in fourth place and was awarded $71,500 after entering the final table in fifth chip-position.

Here is a look at the final-table results:

1: Binh Nguyen (USA) — $260,700
2: Gordon Huntly (UK) — $166,800
3: Charles Chua (Malaysia) — $93,850
4: Terrence Chan (Hong Kong) — $71,500
5: Sunny Jung (Korea) — $54,700
6: Choon Kwang Lim (Singapore) — $44,300
7: Victor Chang (USA) — $33,900
8: Kirby Te (Philippines) — $26,600
9: Hsuan Lee (Taipei) — $19,800

Here is a look at the remaining schedule for season four on the PokerStars APPT:

May 18-23: APPT Macau, China
Sept. 15-19: APPT Auckland, New Zealand
TBD: APPT Cebu, Philippines
Dec. 7-12: Sydney, Australia