Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


PokerStars APPT -- Philippines Main Event Began Today

Third Event of the Third Season of the Asia Pacific Poker Tour Moves to Cebu from Manila


Dan SchreiberThe third stop for season three on the PokerStars Asia Pacific Poker Tour began today in the resort town of Cebu in the Philippines. There were 105 players who entered on day 1A of the tournament, and many more are expected tomorrow for day 1B, professional players who signed up for day 1A included David Steicke and PokerStars Team Asia pro Dan Schreiber (pictured right). Players began with 20,000 in tournament chips in the $2,125 no-limit hold’em main event, and the blinds began at 50-100. The levels are 60 minutes long. The final table will take place on Sunday, Nov. 15. Check back at at the conclusion of the event for a recap of the final table.

Here is a look at the full schedule for the event:

Wednesday, Nov. 11: Day 1A
Thursday, Nov. 12: Day 1B
Friday, Nov. 13: Day 2
Saturday, Nov. 14: Day 3
Sunday, Nov. 15: Final table

2008 APPT Philippines:

Buy-in: $2,350
Number of Entries: 285
Total Prize Pool: $542,853
First-Place Prize: $162,857
Places Paid: 20

Final-Table Results:

1: Van Marcus — $162,857
2: Tae Jon Noh — $103,143
3: Hyoungjin Nam — $54,286
4: Chang Michael — $38,000
5: Ramil Soriano Tandoc — $29,314
6: Lee Nelson — $21,714
7: Manish Sansi — $16,286
8: Benjamin Ong Lim — $12,486
9: Rainer Aquino — $9,229