Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

WPT: North American Poker Championship Day 1C

The Final Flight Brings the Total Number of Players Up to 454


The third day one of the 2008 World Poker Tour North American Poker Championship took place on Sunday in Niagara Falls, Ontario, at the Fallsview Casino Resort. This last edition of the day-one ritual featured 166 players in the $10,000 CDN no-limit hold’em championship event, making the total participants in the event 454. (Last year’s field had 504 entrants.) The prize pool has not yet been released by the casino, but the estimates put the total prize pool at $4.4 million, with a $1 million first-place prize, and the top 45 players will most likely receive prize money.

Day 1C casualties included: Ted Lawson, Ryan Young, Nick Schulman, Joe Elpayaa, John Juanda, Glen Chorny, Erick Lindgren, 2007 Card Player Player of the Year David “The Dragon” Pham, Chris Bell, Allen Kessler, and Carlos Mortensen. Many impressive professionals survived the day, as well, none more noteworthy than the hometown favorite Daniel Negreanu, who played to the crowd throughout day 1C. Joining Kid Poker on day 2 (in addition to those mentioned on the leader board below) will be: Sebastian Ruthenberg, Curt Kohlberg, Mike Watson, Steve Sung, Vinny Pahuja, Kathy Liebert, Chau Giang, Shawn Buchanan, and Bill Edler.

Hand of the day:

John Phan
check-called Darus Suharto all the way down to the river on a board of A-J-9-4-9 to build a large pot worth 90,000, and Suharto flipped over pocket jacks. Phan mucked his hand, and Suharto took down the pot and later ended the night with the chip lead.

Darus SuhartoThe entire surviving field of 275 players will play day 2 on Monday, which is scheduled for five 90-minute levels, or until the field is whittled down to 99 players, whichever comes first.

Here are the chip leaders from day 1C:

1: Darus Suharto -- 188,000
2: Stephen Chidwick -- 165,700
3: Kenan Zhang -- 155,800
4: Steve Paul-Ambrose -- 136,900
5: Dashmir Zyli -- 136,900
6: Erik Cajelais -- 109,800
7: K.C. Yuen -- 104,300
8: Vivek Rajkumar -- 99,600
9: Gueorgui Tchaouchki -- 89,500
10: Mike McDonald -- 86,900