Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Kulev, Oya, Barbero, and Nouira Win European Poker Tour Monte Carlo High Rollers

A Look At Results From The High-Stakes Side Events In Monaco


The 2024 European Poker Tour Monte Carlo festival features six tournaments with buy-ins of €25,000 or more. The €100,000 super high roller wrapped up on Apr. 29, with Patrik Antonius securing the $2.1 million top prize, while the final multi-day high roller is currently ongoing. Below we take a look at the four other high roller events from Monaco that have already played down to winners.

EPT Monte Carlo €30,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Alex KulevA total of 77 entries were made in the €30,000 buy-in affair, building a prize pool worth more than $2.4 million when rendered in US dollars. The top 11 finishers earned a share, with the largest chunk going to Bulgarian top all-time tournament earner Alex Kulev. The bracelet winner and 2023 EPT Monte Carlo €100,000 event champion walked away with $684,056 for his efforts.

This was the fifth-largest score of his career. He went on to finish ninth in this year’s six-figure buy-in at this festival as well for another $235,764. He now has nearly $10.9 million in career tournament earnings. The 658 Card Player Player of the Year points he earned across those two scores brought his total for 2024 to 2,221, which places him inside the top 25 in the POY standings presented by Global Poker.

Kulev overcame a stacked final table that included the likes of Christoph Vogelsang (7th), two-time bracelet winner and EPT Sochi main event champion Artur Martirosian (5th), bracelet winner Jose ‘Nacho’ Barbero (3rd), and two-time bracelet winner Daniel Dvoress (2nd).

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Alex Kulev $684,056 588
2 Daniel Dvoress $441,288 490
3 Jose Barbero $315,252 392
4 Vicente Delgado $242,460 294
5 Artur Martirosian $186,516 245
6 Timothe Busso $148,284 196
7 Christoph Vogelsang $118,692 147
8 Mohamed Naddaf $94,824 98
9 Lewis Spencer $75,924 49

EPT Monte Carlo €25,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Masashi OyaNext up on the high-stakes agenda was the first of several €25,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em events. Japan’s Masashi Oya was the last player standing from a field of 70 total entries. He earned $544,644 after defeating Steve O’Dwyer heads-up for the title.

This was the third recorded title for the 2023 WSOP Paradise $100,000 buy-in event winner. He now has more than $6.7 million in lifetime earnings, with this being his second-largest score yet.

O’Dwyer ticked past $42 million in career cashes thanks to his $353,916 payday. Martirosian finished sixth for his second final-table showing of the series.

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Masashi Oya $544,644 588
2 Steve O’Dwyer $353,916 490
3 Hassan Nashar $251,424 392
4 Yaman Nakdali $193,320 294
5 Enrico Camosci $148,824 245
6 Artur Martirosian $114,372 196
7 Aleksejs Ponakovs $88,020 147
8 Morten Klein $68,040 98
9 Samuel Ju $52,596 49

EPT Monte Carlo €50,000 No-Limit Hold’em

Jose BarberoJose ‘Nacho’ Barbero is backing up his breakout performance on the lice circuit in 2023 with another impressive run in 2024. Barbero, who finished third in last year’s POY race final standings, has made four final tables and won two titles already this year. His latest saw him best a field of 79 entries in the €50,000 buy-in high roller.

Barbero earned $1,165,633 for the win., as well as 714 POY points. He has climbed to 29th place in the this year’s rankings.

The top 11 finishers earned a piece of the $4.1 million prize pool, with players like Steve O’Dwyer (10th), Jean Noel Thorel (7th), and Ole Schemion (3rd) running deep.

Felipe Boianovsky earned the second-largest payout in this event, taking home $752,004 as the runner-up.

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Jose Barbero $1,165,633 714
2 Felipe Boianovsky $752,004 595
3 Ole Schemion $537,192 476
4 Ilya Nikiforov $413,316 357
5 Ramin Hajiyev $317,844 298
6 Jacob Amsellem $252,720 238
7 Jean Noel Thorel $202,176 179
8 Mikalai Vaskaboinikau $161,676 119
9 Gerard Labouriaux Dit $129,384 59

EPT Monte Carlo €25,000 No-Limit Hold’em

The penultimate €25,000 buy-in of the festival attracted 65 entries. Maher Nouira emerged victorious, denying Mashashi Oya heads-up to secure the title and $398,747. The two struck a deal to redistribute the prize money, and Oya actually walked away with the largest payout despite going on to finish second. He earned $435,499 as the runner-up. Oya now sits just outside the top 50 in this year’s POY standings.

Plenty of big names cashed in this event, including two-time POY award winner Stephen Chidwick (9th), Sergio Aido (8th), Christoph Vogelsnaf (7th), Orpen Kisacikoglu (5th), Juan Pardo (4th), and Daniel Dvoress (3rd).

Dvoress cashed for $675,000 across two final-table finishes in high rollers at this festival. With ten final tables and two titles this year, he is currently ranked fourth on the POY leaderboard.

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Maher Nouira $398,747 504
2 Masashi Oya $435,499 420
3 Daniel Dvoress $233,496 336
4 Juan Pardo $179,496 252
5 Orpen Kisacikoglu $138,240 210
6 Liangce Ni $106,164 168
7 Christoph Vogelsang $81,756 126
8 Sergio Aido $63,180 84
9 Stephen Chidwick $48,924 42

Photo credits: Rational Intellectual Holdings Ltd. / Manuel Kovsca, Eloy Cabacas.