Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine


Poker Training

Newsletter and Magazine

Sign Up

Find Your Local

Card Room


Gregory De Faria Wins WPT Prime Voyage Championship

Brazilian Bests 968-Entry Field In $1,100 Event to Win $155,400


The 2024 World Poker Tour Prime Voyage Championship $500,000 guaranteed $1,100 buy-in drew 968 entries, nearly doubling the guarantee to create a final prize pool of $968,000. The largest chunk of that sum was ultimately awarded to Brazil’s Gregory De Faria, who earned $155,400 as the eventual champion. Prior to this victory, De Faria’s largest recorded score was just shy of $4,000.

De Faria also earned 912 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win, enough to move him within reach of the top 150 in the 2024 POY standings presented by Global Poker.

This event featured three starting flights from April 1-3, with those who bagged up combining into a single field of April 4 to play down to a winner. There were 122 that moved on to day 2, all of whom locked up at least $2,000.

Plenty of big names ran deep in this event, including Princess Love (61st), Calvin Anderson (55th), Dylan Wilkerson (21st), Jesse Sylvia (19th), and Darren Rabinowitz (10th).

2013 World Series of Poker main event winner and 2017 WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Showdown champion Ryan Riess bowed out in ninth place ($14,600) when his A-2 was unable to beat the K-J of Nico Betbese.

Lukas Zaskodny then lost a preflop race to finish eighth ($18,500). He was followed to the rail by Gustavo Carmona (7th – $24,000), whose queen-high straight ran into the king-high straight of De Faria.

Allison Hollander’s run ended in sixth place ($31,000) when her K-Q clashed with the A-7 suited of Brandon Takao. Hollander picked up a gutshot on the turn, but Takao ended up with two pair to win the pot and narrow the field to five.

Pocket sevens squared off against A-Q suited in the next big flip, and Brian Monigold headed to the cashier to collect $41,000 after his pair was bested. Trent Hopper moved into the lead when his pocket queens held against the A-2 of Takao (4th – $54,000).

De Faria picked up A-J against the K-J of Betbese (3rd – $72,000) and held to move back in front going into heads-up. Nearly an hour and a half after Bestbese was eliminated, De Faria and Hopper got all-in for the final hand. De Farua shoved with QHeart Suit9Heart Suit and Hopped called for a bit shy of 10 big blinds with KSpade Suit6Club Suit. The board ran out 8Heart Suit5Spade Suit3Heart SuitQDiamond Suit5Heart Suit to give De Faria a flush for the win. Hopper earned $97,000 as the runner-up.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Gregory De Faria $155,400 912
2 Trent Hopper $97,000 760
3 Nicolas Betbese $72,000 608
4 Brandon Takao $54,000 456
5 Brian Monigold $41,000 380
6 Allison Hollander $31,000 304
7 Gustavo Carmona $24,000 228
8 Lukas Zaskodny $18,500 152
9 Ryan Riess $14,600 76

Photo credit: WPT.