Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Isaac Haxton Wins Asian Poker Tour Taipei High Roller Title

American High-Stakes Crusher Earns First Title of 2024 After Tying For The Most Wins In 2023


Isaac Haxton ended 2023 in a tie for the most titles won of any player on the live tournament circuit. He and Danny Tang both secured seven first-place finishes last year. Haxton made a total of 27 final tables in 2023, accumulating more than $15.9 million across those scores, the most of any player.

Haxton managed two final-table finishes within the first few days of 2024, but has since been without a deep run on the live circuit. On March 3, he secured his first victory of the new year by taking down a high-roller event at the Asian Poker Tour Taipei stop. He beat out a field of 137 entries in the NT$300,000 ($9,504 USD) buy-in no-limit hold’em event, earning $290,869 USD for the win.

“It was a wild heads-up match. Big pots every hand and a lot of back and forth,” said Haxton to event host Gregory Liow, known to many as ‘Greg Goes All In’.

This score pushed Haxton’s career earnings past the $49.2 million mark. He remains the eighth-ranked player on poker’s all-time money list, and is now just $746,317 away from becoming the eighth player to surpass $50,000,000 in cashes.

This latest victory saw Haxton walk away with 528 Card Player Player of the Year points. With 1,063 points, he now sits just outside the top 50 in the 2024 POY standings presented by Global Poker.

Haxton wasn’t the only 2023 POY top performer who ran deep in this tournament. Ren Lin, who finished last year in fifth place in the final standings, was the runner-up to Haxton.

Bracelet winner Jans Arens (17th), bracelet winner Wing Po Liu (11th), bracelet winner Sung Joo Hyun (8th), and high-stakes regular Punnat Punsri (6th) were also among the 20 players who cashed in this event.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings POY Points
1 Isaac Haxton $290,869 528
2 Ren Lin $197,536 440
3 Edward Yam $130,272 352
4 Yan Tsang $107,616 264
5 Mike Takayama $86,400 220
6 Punnat Punsri $67,744 176
7 Tien Ling $50,784 132
8 Sung Joo Hyun $37,568 88
9 Andrija Robovic $29,088 44

Photo credit: APT.