Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Poker Hall of Fame Nomination Voting Now Open, Inductee To Be Revealed On Dec. 30

Poker Fans Can Submit Nominations From Dec. 1 - 11 At


The nomination process has officially begun for 2020’s inductions into the Poker Hall of Fame, which was first establish in 1979. The first step is an open voting process which allows any poker enthusiast to place a nomination for a player of their choosing to be up for the honor. Nominations can be submitted here with voting open to the public from Dec. 1-11.

In order to be eligible, nominees must meet the following criteria as listed by the PHOF:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40-years-old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

There are eight official finalists from the 2019 induction process who are remain eligible this year: David Chiu, Chris Bjorin, Ted Forrest, Huckleberry Seed, Mike Matusow and Antonio Esfandiari. The nomination process is expected to yield a final ballot of 8-10 options, which will be announced on Dec. 16 by Caesars Entertainment Inc., which acquired the Poker Hall of Fame along with the WSOP in 2004. The finalists will then be voted on by the 32 living Hall of Fame members, with 10 total points allocated as they see fit across the finalists. The final announcement of the results will be made on Dec. 30 just prior to the finale of the 2020 WSOP $10,000 main event.

This year will see only one new member inducted into the Hall of Fame, which had largely been the case from 1980-2004. In recent years, two inductees were selected each year. 2003 World Series of Poker main event champion Chris Moneymaker and longtime high-stakes cash game regular David Oppenheim became the 57th and 58th inductees in 2019. Below is a complete list of all members of the Poker Hall of Fame.

1979 Nick “The Greek” Dandolos, James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok, Edmond Hoyle, Felton “Corky” McCorquodale, Johnny Moss, Red Winn, Sid Wyman
1980 T “Blondie” Forbes
1981 Bill Boyd
1982 Tom Abdo
1983 Joe Bernstein
1984 Murph Harrold
1985 Red Hodges
1986 Henry Green
1987 Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson
1988 Doyle Brunson, Jack “Treetop” Straus
1989 Fred “Sarge” Ferris
1990 Benny Binion
1991 David “Chip” Reese
1992 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston
1993 Jack Keller
1996 Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell
1997 Roger Moore
2001 Stu “The Kid” Ungar
2002 Johnny Chan, Lyle Berman
2003 Bobby Baldwin
2004 Berry Johnston
2005 Crandell Addington, Jack Binion
2006 Billy Baxter, T.J. Cloutier
2007 Phil Hellmuth, Barbara Enright
2008 Duane “Dewey” Tomko, Henry Orenstein
2009 Mike Sexton
2010 Dan Harrington, Erik Seidel
2011 Barry Greenstein, Linda Johnson
2012 Eric Drache, Brian “Sailor” Roberts
2013 Scotty Nguyen, Tom McEvoy
2014 Jack McClelland, Daniel Negreanu
2015 John Juanda, Jennifer Harman
2016 Todd Brunson, Carlos Mortensen
2017 David Ulliot, Phil Ivey
2018 Mori Eskandani, John Hennigan
2019 Chris Moneymaker, David Oppenheim