Sign Up For Card Player's Newsletter And Free Bi-Monthly Online Magazine

Adnan Hacialioglu Wins 2020 WSOP Online $1,000 Turbo Eight-Max Event

Finnish Player Defeats Field of 1,910 Entries To Win $259,842 and His First Bracelet


Adnan Hacialioglu has won the 2020 World Series of Poker Online $1,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em turbo eight-max event. The Finnish player outlasted a field of 1,910 total entries in the fast-paced event to earn his first WSOP gold bracelet and the top prize of $259,841.

The top 278 finishers made the money in this tournament, locking up a minimum payday of $2,108. The final table began with Niko Koop sitting in the chip lead, with Jargo Alavali and Robin Berggren having the next-largest stacks. Tuen Bui was the first to be sent to the virtual rail. Koop ran A-Q into the pocket aces of Alavali preflop and failed to come from behind, earning $28,814 as the eighth-place finisher.

Soo Jo Kim was the next to fall. Like Bui, Kim got the last of their stack in with A-Q. Kim was ahead of the AClub Suit7Club Suit of Koop, but the board gave Koop a ten-high straight on the turn to eliminate Kim in seventh place ($39,706).

Andriy Lyubovetskiy’s run in this event came to an end when his QSpade Suit8Club Suit failed to outrun the KHeart SuitJHeart Suit of Hacialioglu, which made a full house by the river to send Lyubovetskiy packing in sixth place ($54,714).

Jargo Alavali got the last of his stack in with the best starting hand in hold’em: ASpade SuitAClub Suit. He was at risk against the QSpade Suit10Heart Suit, which hit the QDiamond SuitJHeart Suit9Club Suit flop in a major way. The turn was the 7Heart Suit kept Alavali ahead for the time being, but Hacialioglu had plenty of outs heading into the river. The KClub Suit was one of them, as it gave Hacialioglu a king-high straight on the river to lock up the pot. Alavali was awarded $75,395 for his fifth-place showing.

Nico Koop ultimately finished in fourth place in this event when his AHeart SuitQDiamond Suit couldn’t hold up against the KHeart SuitJHeart Suit of Hacialioglu. A king on the turn gave Hacialioglu the best hand and he held from there to see Koop sent home with $103,893.

Tim WestAmerican poker pro Tim West came into the final table as the shortest stack, but managed to battle his way to three-handed play. West’s final hand was a preflop race with KClub Suit10Club Suit facing the 4Diamond Suit4Club Suit of Hacialioglu, who had scored the last three knockouts in a row. The board came down AClub SuitJHeart Suit3Heart Suit5Heart Suit2Heart Suit to give Hacialioglu his fourth straight elimination. West cashed for $143,162 as the third-place finisher.

With that, Hacialioglu took roughly a 3:1 chip lead into heads-up play with Robin Berggren. The final showdown only lasted a matter of minutes. In the end, the two players got all-in in a classic preflop race situation. Berggren held the 7Spade Suit7Diamond Suit while Hacialioglu has ASpade SuitQClub Suit. The QDiamond SuitJDiamond Suit3Club Suit6Club SuitJSpade Suit runout gave Hacialioglu a winning pair of queens to secure the pot and the title. Berggren earned $197,274 as the runner-up.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings
1 Adnan Hacialioglu $259,841
2 Robin Berggren $197,274
3 Tim West $143,162
4 Niko Koop $103,893
5 Jargo Alavali $79,395
6 Andrey Lyubovetskiy $54,714
7 Soo Jo Kim $39,706
8 Tuen Bui $28,814