Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Gregor Muller Wins World Series of Poker Online $500 Limit Hold'em Event

Austrian Tops Field of 706 Entries To Earn His First Bracelet and The Top Prize of $45,102


The 2020 World Series of Poker Online $500 buy-in limit hold’em event attracted a total of 706 entries to build a final prize pool of $335,350. The top 98 finishers made the money in what was the first fixed limit event of the international-facing segment of the series, but in the end the end the lion’s share was awarded to eventual champion Gregor Muller. The Austrian earned $45,102 and his first WSOP gold bracelet for the win.

The final table of this event began with just eight players remaining and Anmol Srivats in the lead. Brunno Botteon was the next largest stack, while Muller sat in fourth chip position. Hong Kong Nguyen was the first to fall. He got his last few bets in preflop with QClub SuitJSpade Suit and found himself at risk against the ADiamond Suit7Spade Suit of Michiel Van Elsacker, a Twitch poker streamer from Belgium. Neither player improved by the river and Van Elsacker’s ace high took down the pot. Nguyen earned $6,492 as the eighth-place finisher.

Van Elsacker was also involved in the next big showdown at the final table. The flop read JHeart Suit9Club Suit7Club Suit after three-bets went in preflop. Van Elsacker bet and France’s Michael Schwartz raised all-in for 226,138 total. Van Elsacker called and revealed JDiamond SuitJClub Suit for top set. Schwartz had plenty of outs with the KClub Suit10Club Suit for a flush draw and a double gutshot straight draw. The 2Spade Suit turn and 10Heart Suit river were not enough to give Schwartz the lead, though, and he was eliminated in seventh place ($8,856).

Davide Suriano’s run in this event came to an end in sixth place. He got all-in on a flop of QHeart Suit8Diamond Suit2Club Suit check-raising and then four-betting over the top of Brunno Botteon. With all of the chips in, Suriano revealed QSpade Suit6Club Suit for top pair while Botteon flipped over KSpade Suit8Club Suit for middle pair. The 8Spade Suit on the turn gave Botteon trip eights to take the lead, and the 6Heart Suit on the river locked up the pot for the Brazilian. Suriano was awarded $12,082 for his strong showing in this event.

Drew Soik got his chips in good, with his ASpade SuitJClub Suit well ahead of the JDiamond Suit8Diamond Suit of Botteon. An eight-high flop turned the tables. though, and Soik was unable to regain the lead by the river. He was awarded $16,484 for his fifth-place finish.

Despite scoring a few of the early knockouts at the final table, Michiel van Elsacker was the next to be sent to the rail. He got the last of his bets in on a KHeart SuitJClub Suit3Diamond Suit flop holding AClub Suit2Diamond Suit. He was up against the QDiamond Suit10Spade Suit of Botteon for an open-ended straight draw with some live cards. The turn was the KClub Suit to keep Van Elsacker ahead, but the QSpade Suit river gave Botteon kings and queens to take down the pot. Van Elsacker finished in fourth place, earning $22,488 for his deep run.

Anmol Srivats got all-in after a series of raises preflop. He held the ASpade SuitQClub Suit and was facing the 8Diamond Suit6Diamond Suit of Muller. The board came down 6Spade Suit3Spade Suit3Heart Suit2Heart Suit4Spade Suit and Muller made sixes and threes to send Srivats home with $30,680.

With that Muller took a slight lead into heads-up play against Botteon. The two traded places a few times, but Muller was eventually able to seize control of the match and build a sizable chip advantage. In the end Botteon got all-in with 7Club Suit6Heart Suit against the QSpade SuitJSpade Suit of Muller. The 7Heart Suit4Heart Suit4Club SuitQHeart Suit9Club Suit runout secured the pot and the title for Muller. Botteon cashed for $41,855 as the runner-up finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings
1 Gregor Muller $45,102
2 Brunno Botteon $41,855
3 Anmol Srivats $30,680
4 Michiel Van Elsacker $22,488
5 Drew Soik $16,484
6 Davide Suriano $12,082
7 Michael Schwartz $8,856
8 Hong Kong Nguyen $6,492