Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Seth Fischer Wins 2020 World Series of Poker Online $1,500 No-Limit Hold'em Freezeout Event

American Defeats Field of 2,153 Players To Win His First Bracelet and $444,869


Seth Fischer Seth Fischer is the latest player to secure a gold bracelet during the 2020 World Series of Poker Online. The American outlasted a field of 2,153 players in the WSOP Online $1,500 no-limit hold’em freezout event to win his first gold bracelet and the top prize of $444,869. Fischer nearly won his first bracelet back in 2008. He made it down to heads-up play in that year’s $2,500 six-max no-limit hold’em event, but ultimately lost heads-up to Dario Minieri. This time around, Fischer was able to seal the deal.

This event featured a $2,500,000 guarantee, but the strong turnout saw the final prize pool grow to $3,068,025. The top 314 finishers made the money, with a min-cash being worth $3,145. By the time the field was narrowd down to a final table of nine, Sebastien Grax held the lead while Fischer sat on the second-shortest stack. Yonatan
Basin was the first to fall when his A-8 offsuit ran into the pocket eighths of Arsenii Karmatckii. The pair held and Basin was sent to the virtual rail in ninth place ($32,633). Karmatckii struck again just a handful of minutes later. He three-bet all-in over an open from Clement Tripodi, who quickly called for his tournament life with QSpade SuitQDiamond Suit. Karmatckii held the ADiamond Suit4Diamond Suit. The board came down 10Heart Suit9Diamond Suit4Heart Suit8Club SuitASpade Suit and Karmatckii made aces up on the river to eliminate Tripodi in eighth place ($45,386).

Lukas Parednis was the next to fall. He lost a classic preflop race with 7Heart Suit7Diamond Suit against the ASpade SuitKHeart Suit of Grax, who flopped top pair and held from there. Parednis took home $63,124 as the seventh-place finisher. Dominykas Mikolaitis’ run in this event concluded when his ASpade Suit3Diamond Suit failed to outrun the AHeart SuitQSpade Suit of Michael Nugent, who was at his second final table of the series after having finished fourth in the ‘Millionaire Maker’ event for $556,095. Mikolaitis took home $87,793 for his sixth-place showing in this event.

Karmatckii secured his third knockout of the final table when he picked up KSpade SuitKHeart Suit against the AClub Suit10Heart Suit of Evaldas Aniulis. The kings held and Aniulis had to settle for $122,102 as the fifth-place finsiher.

Nugent got all-in holding ASpade Suit7Spade Suit on a 7Club Suit4Club Suit2Diamond Suit flop. He was called by Grax, who held QDiamond SuitQClub Suit. The 3Spade Suit turn and 10Club Suit river brought no help for Nugent and he was eliminated in fourth place. He earned $169,821 for his second deep run in a massive field event in just over a week.

Fischer entered three-handed play as the shortest stack, but managed to find an early double up to close the gap somewhat and then managed to battle his way into the lead. He stretched that advantage by winning a big pot with a backdoor flush against the flopped top pair of Grax, who was left as the short stack after the hand. Grax lost a flip with pocket fours against the A-Q of Karmatckii to be left with less than a big blind, and was eliminated shortly afterwards in third place ($236,188)).

Heads-up play began with Fischer holding 13.4 million to Karmatckii’s 8.1 million. He was able to increase his lead to nearly a 9:1 advantage by the time the final hand was dealt. Fischer shoved from the button holding KDiamond Suit7Club Suit and Karmatckii called with JSpade Suit10Heart Suit. The board came down AHeart Suit4Heart Suit2Club Suit2Spade Suit7Heart Suit and Fischer’s sevens and deuces were enough to lock up the pot and the title. Karmatckii cashed for $328,491 as the second-place finisher.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings
1 Seth Fischer $444,869
2 Arsenii Karmatckii $328,491
3 Sebastien Grax $236,188
4 Michael Nugent $169,821
5 Evaldas Aniulis $122,102
6 Dominykas Mikolaitis $87,793
7 Lukas Parednis $63,124
8 Clement Tripodi $45,386
9 Yonatan Basin $32,633