Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Paul Teoh Wins World Series of Poker Online $1,000 Short Deck Event

Malaysian Overcomes Field of 487 Entries To Win $82,202 and His First Bracelet


Paul Teoh has won the 2020 World Series of Poker Online $1,000 buy-in short deck hold’em event. The Malaysian overcame field of 487 entries to secure his first WSOP gold bracelet and te top prize of $82,202.

Short deck is a format that has quickly growing in popularity since first appearing in high-stakes cash games in Asia several years ago. The game is played with a 36-card deck, with the deuces through fives removed and a couple of resulting rule changes. Flushes beat full houses, and aces can play both as the highest card and as a five in order to complete a nine-high straight.

By the time the final table was set in this single day event, it was Canadian poker pro Michael Watson who held the chip lead. The World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour main event winner had 28.3 million in chips with nine remaining. The first eliminations of the final table resulted from a three-way all-in between Boon Heng Siong (ASpade SuitQSpade Suit), Shota Nakanishi (AClub SuitKHeart Suit) and Andrei Konopelko (ADiamond SuitJSpade Suit). The board ran out 9Heart Suit7Spade Suit7Club Suit10Club Suit8Spade Suit and Konopelko made a straight on the river to take down the massive pot to become the new chip leader. Nakanishi earned $6,850 for ninth place, while Siong secured $9,345 as the eighth-place finisher.

Mykhailo Krasnytskyi was the next to fall. Again, it was a three-way all-in with three players holding an ace and another broadway card. This time around, Watson’s AHeart SuitQHeart Suit made a broadway straight on the river to earn him the pot and the knockout. Krasnytskyi settled for $12,750 for his seventh-place showing.

Jose Luis Maslhia’s run in this event came to an end shortly after he lost the majority of his stack by running A-K into the pocket aces of Michelle Shah. He got the last of his chips in with JSpade Suit10Club Suit, which was beat out by the AClub SuitQSpade Suit of Teoh, who flopped trips and held from there. Maslha cashed for $17,394.

Joseph Orsino got his last 17,200,000 in the middle with KHeart SuitQHeart Suit and was called by the ADiamond SuitJDiamond Suit of Watson. Orsino flopped a king to take the lead, but Watson turned an ace to regain the advantage. A blank on the river locked up the pot for Watson and sent Orsino to the rail in fifth place ($23,730).

Konopelko fell to the bottom of the leaderboard during four-handed action. He ultimately got all-in ahead, with ASpade SuitQClub Suit against the KDiamond SuitQSpade Suit of Shah. The board gave Shah a king-high straight on the turn, though, and Konopelko was eliminated as the fourth place finisher ($32,373).

Michael WatsonMichael Watson came within a couple of knockouts from earning his first gold bracelet, but ultimately had has run at the title ended in brutal fashion. He got his last chips in preflop with JDiamond SuitJClub Suit against the 10Spade Suit10Heart Suit of Teoh. The AHeart Suit9Club Suit8Heart Suit flop and QSpade Suit turn meant that Teoh could only win the hand with one of the two remaining jacks in the deck, as a ten would give Watson the straight. The JSpade Suit appeared on the river and Watson ended up earning $44,166 as the third-place finisher.

With that Teoh took roughly a 5:2 chip lead into heads-up play against Shah. He was able to extend that advantage even further by the time the final hand was dealt. Teoh picked up QHeart SuitJDiamond Suit and raised to 3.6 million . Shah shoved for around 16.5 million with the AHeart SuitJSpade Suit and Teoh called. The board ran out KDiamond SuitQSpade Suit8Diamond Suit9Club Suit8Heart Suit and Teoh made queens and eighths to secure the pot and the title. Shah took home $60,254 as the runner-up.

Here is a look at the payouts awarded at the final table:

Place Name Earnings
1 Paul Teoh $82,202
2 Michelle Shah $60,254
3 Michael Watson $44,166
4 Andrei Konopelko $32,373
5 Joseph Orsino $23,723
6 Jose Luis Maslhia $17,394
7 Mykhailo Krasnytskyi $12,750
8 Boon Heng Siong $9,345
9 Shota Nakanishi $6,850