Poker Coverage: Poker Legislation Poker Tournaments U.S. Poker Markets Sports Betting

Connor Drinan Wins Record Fifth Spring Championship of Online Poker Title In A Single Series

Shaun Deeb Set The Previous Record For Titles Won During A SCOOP Festival With Four Victories In 2012


Connor ‘blancodrinan’ Drinan made poker history by winning his fifth PokerStars Spring Championship of Online Poker (SCOOP) title of 2020. The victory earned Drinan the record for the most SCOOP titles won in a single series, besting the record of four wins set by Shaun Deeb in 2012.

According to Drinan, he skipped the first week of this year’s SCOOP before starting his record-setting tear. His first win this year saw him outlast a field of 378 entries to win the $530 pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better event for $34,421. Just a few days later he emerged victorious in the $5,200 buy-in pot-limit Omaha six-max event, which drew 150 total entries. Drinan added $152,011 in earnings for that second victory. The following day Drinan overcame a field of 1,052 entries to win the $215 no-limit Omaha eight-or-better six-max progressive knockout event for another $28,359.

Drinan’s record-tying fourth title of the series came in the $1,050 H.O.R.S.E. event, which saw him defeat 128 other opponents to take home $30,233. On Tuesday, May 19 Drinan secured the biggest win yet, topping 159 total entries to win the $10,300 pot-limit Omaha sim-max main event for $322,264 and, of course, his record fifth title of the series.

Drinan took to Twitter to celebrate his accomplishment. He tagged former record-holder Shaun Deeb, who responded with a comment wondering about the difference in total events available when comparing the 2012 series during which he set the record to this year’s massive schedule.

According to PokerStars’ website, the 2012 SCOOP had 38 events with three buy-in levels each for a total of 114 possible SCOOP titles to be won. This year’s schedule was already massive and grew even bigger when PokerStars announced that the series would be extended through the end of May, with another 132 tournaments added to bring the total to 372, with 124 events that each feature three buy-in levels. All of the 132 events added as a part of the schedule extension have yet to determine a champion.