Poker Coverage: Poker Tournaments Casino News Sports Betting Poker Strategy

Shiva Dudani Wins 2020 WSOP Circuit Horseshoe Hammond Main Event

Chicago Resident Defeats Field of 989 Entries To Win $258,078


The 2020 World Series of Poker Circuit Horseshoe Hammond $1,700 buy-in no-limit hold’em main event attracted a total of 989 entries, easily surpassing the $1,000,000 guarantee to create a final prize pool of $1,498,335. The top 149 finishers made the money in this event, with the largest share going to eventual champion Shiva Dudani. The 34-year-old Chicago resident earned a massive payday of $258,078 for coming out on top in this event, along with earning his second WSOPC gold ring. His previous win came nearly a decade ago in a $300 buy-in pot-limit Omaha event.

“I’m so excited, it’s so nice to win a tournament, especially as big as this one, and in Chicago, it means a lot to me, Dudani told WSOP reporters after coming out on top.

In addition to the hardware and the money, Dudani was also awarded 912 Card Player Player of the Year points for the win. This was his first POY-qualified score of the year, but it alone was enough to move him into a three-way tie for 52nd place in the 2020 POY race standings sponsored by Global Poker.

The final day of this event began with 17 players remaining and Evan Bethyo sitting in pole position. Dudani sat in 13th chip position when play resumed but managed to climb to third by the time the unofficial final table of ten players was reached. His rise up the leaderboard took a hit during eight-handed action, as he ran pocket queens into the pocket aces of Patrick Steele and failed to draw out. He bounced back from that by doubling up with pocket kings against the pocket nines of Firas Sadou.

Dudani scored his first elimination of the final table with KHeart SuitKDiamond Suit, which beat out the 8Diamond Suit8Club Suit of Hussain Sajwani to send the later to the rail in eighth place ($32,732).

Firas Sadou was the next to fall. He got his last chips in with pocket threes and was called by the pocket sevens of Patrick Steele. Neither player improved and Sadou was knocked out in seventh place ($41,602).

Start-of-day chip leader Evan Bethyo’s run came to an end in sixth place. He three-bet shoved all-in from the button with KSpade SuitJClub Suit and was called by Dudani, who held AHeart Suit10Heart Suit. Both players flopped a pair, but Dudani’s aces were best and Bethyo was eliminated in sixth place. He took home $53,394 for his deep run.

Sachin Bhargava lost a race with JSpade Suit10Heart Suit against the 6Spade Suit6Heart Suit of Bryan Skreens to hit the rail in fifth place ($69,197). Dudani then earned his third knockout of the final table with his ADiamond SuitQSpade Suit beating out the AHeart SuitJSpade Suit of Patrick Steele. Ace-queen high was enough by the river to end Steele’s quest for the title in fourth place ($90,543).

Bryan Skreens got his last 15 big blinds in preflop with AClub Suit8Heart Suit and was called by the KHeart SuitQSpade Suit of Casey Carroll. The board came down KDiamond SuitQClub Suit5Heart Suit7Spade Suit4Heart Suit and Carroll’s two pairs earned him the pot. Skreens was awarded $119,606 as the third-place finisher.

With that Dudani took a slight lead into heads-up play against Carroll. The two battled it out for over two hours, with Dudani building nearly a 2:1 chip lead by the time the final hand was dealt. He limped in from the button with JClub Suit10Spade Suit for 300,000 and Carroll raised to 1,200,000 with ADiamond SuitQClub Suit. Dudani called and the flop came down QHeart SuitJHeart SuitJDiamond Suit. Caroll bet 1,100,000. Dudani raised to 2,450,000 with his trips and Carroll called. The turn was the 7Club Suit and Carroll checked. Dudani bet 2,800,000, which prompted Carroll to move all-in. Dudani quickly called and was one card away from victory. The 4Spade Suit on the river secured the pot and the title for Dudani. Carroll earned $159,494 for his runner-up finish.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Payout (USD) POY Points
1 Shiva Dudani $258,078 912
2 Casey Carroll $159,494 760
3 Bryan Skreens $119,606 608
4 Patrick Steele $90,543 456
5 Sachin Bhargava $69,197 380
6 Evan Bethyo $53,394 304
7 Firas Sadou $41,602 228
8 Hussain Sajwani $32,732 152
9 Nicola Ditrapani $26,010 76

Winner photo provided by WSOP.